A curated list of links to audio, video and other language learning resourcs
Find Print Dictionaries
Italian Dictionaries in Reference
These materials do not circulate, but can be used in the library building.
Collection includes bilingual (such as English-Italian) and monolingual (such as Italian-only) dictionaries
These are located in the reference section on the 3rd level of the Multi-Tier Stacks under call numbers PC1001-1977.
Circulating Italian Dictionaries
These dictionaries are available for checkout
They are located on the first level of the Multi-Tier stacks in the PC1001-1977 call number range
Browse Select Dictionaries
Oxford Paravia Italian DictionaryThis is a major new edition of the Oxford-Paravia Italian Dictionary, the most complete and up-to-date Italian dictionary available. With hundreds of new words in each language, it covers all the latest terms such as aid worker, climate change, and life coach, and includes specialist EUterminology such as acquis and revolving presidency. The 7,000 most frequently used words in Italian are highlighted to help you learn essential vocabulary.Also new to this edition are cultural notes, providing lively and interesting information on life in Italy, and a guide to correspondence, which includes sample letters, emails, CVs, and help with text messaging. There are notes throughout the A-Z text to warn of politically sensitive vocabulary, toalert you to key differences between Italian and English, and to show how words such as with and before are used in different contexts.This edition retains such popular features as quick-reference verb tables, and lists of vocabulary on topics such as seasons, rivers, sports, and more. It is an essential reference tool for all serious students of Italian at university level and beyond, and for those who need an authoritative andcomprehensive guide to Italian.
Call Number: PC1640 .O95 2006
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Collins Italian Dictionary'Collins Italian Dictionary' contains thousands of new references to cover all the latest vocabulary, culture notes to broaden users' knowledge of Italian culture, and web addresses to enable further research. This is the ideal dictionary for learners of Italian.
Call Number: E-book
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Pocket Oxford Italian DictionaryPortable, affordable, authoritative, and up to date, this fourth edition of the Pocket Oxford Italian Dictionary covers over 90,000 words and phrases, and 120,000 translations of contemporary Italian and English. Hundreds of new words from Italian and English have been added from computing and technology to health and lifestyle, based on findings from the Oxford Languages Tracker. More than just a dictionary, this handy reference book also includes extensive sections on grammar, culture, and communication, giving you the tools you need to communicate effectively and understand aspects of Italian culture. The grammar supplement provides full information on key points of Italian grammar, including verb tables for quick reference. The section on culture offers lively and useful information on life in both the Italian-speaking world and the English-speaking world, covering everything from political institutions to how weddings are celebrated. The communication supplement gives help with all types of correspondence, including example letters, emails, and résumés, and a guide to text messaging. Also new to this edition is a brand-new section on the Internet and online services.