Education

NCES (National Center for Education Statistics). The primary U.S. federal entity for the collection and dissemination of data on education. Examples of resources include:

• Data Analysis System (DAS). Education survey data and reports on education policy issues.

• Digest of Education Statistics. Comprehensive statistical compendium for education in the United States. Enrollments, dropout rates, state teacher salaries, etc. 

• Condition of Education. Summaries of statistics on topics ranging from literacy rates to math proficiency.

• Projections of Educational Statistics. Projections for key education statistics such as enrollment, graduates, teachers, and expenditures in elementary and secondary schools.

• Fast Facts State-level statistics (52) Statewide information in elementary/secondary education characteristics and finance, postsecondary education, public libraries, assessments, and selected demographics for all states.

California Department of Education: Data and statistics collected from California schools

California Postsecondary Education Commission. The Commission closed in 2011, but data about higher education in California, including enrollment, school characteristics, transition from high school to college, and more, are still available on the site.

United States Census education data. Summary of statistics on the social, political and economic organization of the United States.

Historical Statistics of the United States. Contains statistics on a wide spectrum of social and economic developments.

ICPSR Data Archive: (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) :Archive at the University of Michigan, maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets Provides access to U.S. and international statistical information. Includes some full text tables.

OECD iLibrary: Includes education statistics for OECD countries

UNESCO Institute for Statistics: Statistics on education, science and technology, culture, and communication for more than 200 countries and territories.

World Development Indicators DataBank: Education indicators for access, progression, completion, literacy, teachers, population, and expenditures. 

ICPSR Data Archive: (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) from the University of Michigan, maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.

Sage Data ovides access to U.S. and international statistical information. Includes some full text tables.

Most psychological tests are not freely available, even through library subscriptions. Researchers spend a lot of time and money on developing validated and reliable measurements, and want to get paid for them.

We subscribe to several databases that have tests and measurements:

The library offers assistance with locating large datasets and with using data for Geographical Information Systems projects. For example, you might want to display a large data set on educational attainment in selected U.S. communities on a map.

• Warren Roberts : GIS specialist 
• Jeanine Finn: Data Services
• Mary Martin : Data Finder

For more help see: Geographic Information Systems