Geographic Information Systems (GIS)

Cal-Adapt makes available peer-reviewed observational data related to climate change as well as derived products for selected climate indicators.

A searchable database of geospatial data from hundreds of California government sources.

The California Office of Environmental Health Hazard Assessment (OEHHA) produces these mapping resources to help identify California communities that are disproportionally burdened by environmental pollution. 

Provides downloadable ZIP files of GIS data based on California regions and program areas of the CDFW.

This division of Cal Fire provides geospatial data assessing the current conditions of forested areas in the state.

Includes datasets and shapefiles describing highways, boundaries (of political subdivisions), aviation, and railroad sites

Wide-ranging collection of data including historic and current water levels for surface water sites in California.

Interactive data and visualization (as well as downloadable files) for California’s schools and school districts.

Includes demographic, planning, environmental, and other kinds of data collected and shared by over 70 member governments.

Interactive and downloadable map data for areas of unincorporated Los Angeles County.

The city’s public platform for exploring, visualizing, and downloading location-based Open Data

The Geospatial Platform is a cross-agency collaborative effort of U.S. Federal Agencies to make geospatial government data findable and accessible. Launched in 2020, this site provides access to geospatial data and visualization tools.

Summary tables and time series of population, housing, agriculture, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for years from 1790 through the present and for all levels of U.S. census geography

Shapefiles include the most recent political boundaries (including congressional districts) and census tracts. The core TIGER/Line Files and Shapefiles do not include demographic data, but they do contain geographic entity codes (GEOIDs) that can be linked to the Census Bureau’s demographic data,

Catalog of GIS data and tools available from the US Geological Survey

This public catalog includes raster datasets from a variety of remote sensing services studying earth science.

Data tables from population and housing censuses as well as agricultural censuses from around the world, along with corresponding GIS boundary files