Research Guides: Open Educational Resources (OERs): Find OER

OASIS is the Openly Available Sources Integrated Search (OASIS) is a search tool that aims to make the discovery of open content easier. OASIS currently searches open content from 97 different sources and contains 385,629 records. OASIS is being developed at SUNY Geneseo's Milne Library.

Find Open Textbooks

The following resources can be used to locate high quality, peer-reviewed open textbooks in a variety of subject areas. Most of these resources also provide evaluative information about the textbooks they contain, such as faculty reviews, accessibility reviews, and usage statistics.

Open Textbook Library
The Open Textbook Library provides an easy-to-use interface for locating and evaluating OER. Along with peer-reviewed textbooks, the OTL provides reviews from faculty who have adopted their texts for courses.
eCampus Ontario Open Library
A collection of curated OER. Open textbook records contain: download options, information about the book, links to ancillary materials, links to other editions/versions of the resource, and faculty reviews.
OpenStax
OpenStax is one of the most popular OER repositories in use today, and provides textbooks for college as well as high school AP courses.
BCCampus OpenEd
The British Columbia Campus Consortium's OER repository, BCCampus OpenEd collects textbooks from a variety of resources, including the books housed in OpenStax and others.
SUNY Open Textbooks
Containing openly-licensed, peer-reviewed textbooks from the State University of New York, SUNY Open Textbooks provides open textbooks as well as consultation services for faculty interested in adopting or creating OER.

Find Other OER

Other open educational resources (syllabi, course handouts, lesson plans, etc) can be found in the following OER repositories. Some, like OER Commons, contain open textbooks as well as other course materials. Others, like Open Learn, host live course content and provide users with "badges" to indicate if they have completed a course.

OER Commons
The Open Educational Resources (OER) Commons currently includes open educational materials in broad subject areas. Materials include lesson plans, textbooks, activities, assessments, readings, and more.
MIT OpenCourseWare
A web-based publication of virtually all MIT course content, OpenCourseWare is open, available globally, and a permanent MIT activity.
Libre Texts
Created by UC Davis with the support of Dept of Education grants, LibreTexts contains open textbooks and other OER in subjects like Chemistry, Biology, Nutrition, Music Theory, Physics, Agriculture, and more!
Saylor Academy
Saylor provides freely available online courses and course credit on a variety of subjects. Some of these courses also provide college credit.
Skills Commons
A growing repository of materials developed by Federal TAACCCT Grant recipient colleges. Includes these industries: Construction; Agriculture, Forestry, Fishing & Hunting; Educational Services; Health Care & Social Assistance; Administrative & Support Services; Repair & Maintenance; Manufacturing, and others!
Galileo Open Learning Materials
GALILEO Open Learning Materials brings together open educational resources throughout the University System of Georgia, including open textbooks and ancillary materials.
Wisc-Online
Wisc-Online provides learning objects, interactive activities, and other educational resources in various fields. From Veterinary Medicine to Economics and Political Science, it contains a variety of learning objects for students in nearly any discipline.

The icons used throughout this guide are from icons8. They have their own use/reuse guidelines linked here.