Welcome and Places to Start Your Research - CMC HIST 114 Race and Racism in the Colonial Americas Prof. Livesay - SP 25 - Research Guides at The Claremont Colleges Library

Your Research for this Class and this Guide

Hello! Welcome to the Research Guide for HIST 114: Race and Racism in the Colonial Americas! The main purpose of this guide is to help you find primary and secondary sources as you research racism is connected to historical events or persons -- and then (in the second half of your paper) analyze the current day commeration or debate about your paper topic*. Please keep in mind that this is a place to start -- use the subject research guides below as a way to find other primary source databases. Do not hesitate to email me (or other librarians) or make an appointment.

*This is a paraphrase of your assignment -- Please consult Professor Livesay's instructions.

Then: Primary, Historical Sources

Early American Imprints, Series I-II
Why search here? To explore all aspects of life in the American Colonies and the early U.S. Republic, through books, pamphlets, broadsides and other scarce printed materials published in the American Colonies and early U.S. republic.
Content type: Primary sources, books, pamphlets, broadsides
Coverage dates: 1639-1819
Includes both full text and digital images of materials published in America from 1639-1800 (Series I: Evans) and 1801-1819 (Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker). Both series cover subjects ranging from history, literature and culture to politics, government and society.
Language: English
Keywords: Readex
Early American Newspapers, Series I (1690-1876)
Why search here? Search here for a selection of regional early American newspapers with scans of articles and full pages.
Content type: Newspaper articles
Coverage dates: 1690-1879
This platform allows you to search through two databases: Early American Newspapers, Series 1: From Colonies to Nation (1690-1879) and African American Newspapers (1827-1999).
Language: English
American Periodicals
Why search here? Discover articles from a broad selection of historical, U.S.-based periodicals that are not always covered elsewhere, including professional journals and both children's and women's magazines.
Content type: Magazine articles, trade journal articles, scholarly articles, newspaper articles
Coverage dates: 1740-1940
Articles come from labor, trade, literary, scientific, and photographic periodicals.
Language: English
Keywords: American Periodicals Series APS Online
Making of the Modern World
Why search here? Explore primary sources related to the history of western trade with a focus on the coal, iron, and steel industries, the railway industry, the cotton industry, banking and finance, and the modern corporation.
Content type: Primary sources, eBooks, reports, maps, diagrams, photographs, paintings, etc.
Coverage dates: 1400s-1940s
Additionally, there are sources discussing the history of the working class, the history of slavery and colonization, the labor movement, as well as other topics that relate to and challenge capitalism.
Language: English, French, Spanish, German, Latin, Italian, and other European languages.
Latin American Newspapers
Why search here? Explore full scanned images of Latin American newspapers from the 19th and early 20th century.
Content type: Newspaper articles
Coverage dates: 1805-1922
Includes access to Series I and II.
Language: Spanish, English, Portuguese, French
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Why search here? Good for getting a sense of what constituted knowledge in eighteenth century England, Ireland, and Scotland, including journals and diaries, religious materials, creative works, and political documents.
Content type: Primary sources, books, pamphlets, diaries, broadsides
Coverage dates: 1701-1800
Includes some (but not many) works from other countries and in other languages.
Language: English, French, Latin
Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Why search here? Good for learning about the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the transatlantic slave trade and the institution of slavery, as well as the global abolition movement and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and parts of Europe.
Content type: Newspaper articles, correspondence, pamphlets, legal documents, court records, books
Coverage dates: 1600s-1800s
Language: English, French
Slavery and the Law
Why search here? Find petitions on race, slavery, and free Blacks submitted state legislatures and county courthouses between 1775-1867 and a complete record of laws governing American slavery.
Content type: Primary sources, legal documents
Coverage dates: 1775-1867
Language: English
Keywords: History Vault
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
Why search here? Access primary sources relevant to the legal history of slavery and abolition in the English speaking world.
Content type: Primary sources, laws and statutes, judicial cases, newspaper articles, pamphlets, biographies
Coverage dates: 1700s-1900s
Includes a bibliography of additional sources considered important for researching slavery and the law.
Language: English

Then (with some now): Main Databases for Secondary, Scholary in American and Latin American History

America: History and Life
Why search here? Useful for anthropological and historical research concerning the United States and Canada from pre-history to the present.
Content type: Scholarly articles, magazine articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, books
Coverage dates: 1914-present
Language: English, French, Russian, German, Spanish, etc.
Historical Abstracts
cholarship (articles, books, dissertations and book reviews) about world history from 1450 CE - present. Does not include United States or Canadian history, but would include Latin American History
Language: English, French, German, Spanish, etc.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Why search here? Main database for identifying research literature on historical and emerging issues pertinent to the study of Latin America.
Content type: Annotated citations for books, scholarly articles, book chapters, conference papers, maps and atlases, and e-resources
Coverage dates: 1936-present
Language: English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, etc.

Now (with some then): Researching the Present Day (Primary, but some secondary)

Academic Search Premier
Both scholarly and non-scholarly articles from all disciplines -- can be used for both primary and secondary. Excellent for current affairs.
Language: English, Spanish, Russian, Portuguese, Turkish, French, Chinese, Arabic etc.
Keywords: ASP
Nexis Uni
Why search here? Search here for comprehensive coverage of news and current events, government, business, medical, and legal topics, as well as general reference information.
Content type: Newspaper articles, trade journal articles, broadcast transcripts, financial reports, federal and state case law, medical abstracts, corporate profiles
Coverage dates: 1980-present
Language: English, Spanish, French, Dutch, German, Portuguese
Keywords: Lexis Nexis
New York Times (current)
Why search here? Search here for the full-text of the current print editions of The New York Times newspaper.
Content type: Newspaper articles
Coverage dates: 1980-present
Excludes website-only content. This subscription is not the same as a subscription to the New York Times website, which is offered to students through some of the 5Cs.
Language: English
Keywords: NYT
Ethnic NewsWatch
Why search here? Search here for full text articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
Content type: Scholarly articles, newspaper articles, magazine articles, trade journal articles, dissertations and theses, conference proceedings, blogs
Coverage dates: 1959-present
Includes unique community publications as well as top scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies.
Language: English, Spanish, French, etc.
Keywords: News Watch
Global Newsstream
Why search here? Discover news from the top news sources around the world.
Content type: Newspaper articles
Coverage dates: 1980-present
Includes titles such as, The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
Language: English, German, Spanish, Portuguese, French, Urdu‎, etc.
Keywords: News Stream International Newsstand Stand

Primary Sources in Library Catalogs

Primary sources of all types can also be found in our regular, circulating books, in special collections, and beyond. Here are few ways to find primary texts and sources by using our own The Library Search.

1. Use the author search to find books we have by a particular author, politician, journalist or another type of historical witness

2. Do an advanced keyword search in The Library Search and then limit by publication year under “limit your search”) (note: you can also limit by language and many other ways)

3. . Do an advanced keyword in Library Search and then limit by years and then limit to the word "sources" in the subject field (by using the dropdown menu), for example:

"colonial america* AND Slave*" inn the keyword field

"sources" in the subject field.

(this brings us the Library of Congress Subject subheading “sources” which is sometimes used to designate primary source collections of different kinds — as in "Slavery--Political aspects--United States--History--18th century--Sources".

Another sample search: "Thomas Jefferson" and "sources" in the subject field

Other Research Guides

Arts and Humanities Librarian

Adam Rosenkranz

Email Me

Contact:

Research, Teaching, & User Services - The Claremont Colleges Library

909 607-3986

Subjects: American Studies, Classics / Ancient Studies & Late Antique-Medieval Studies, European Studies, German, History, Languages & Literatures, Late Antique-Medieval Studies, Latin American Studies, Middle Eastern / North African Studies, Philosophy, Russian, Science, Technology, & Society, U.S. History