Research Guides: PIT SPAN 132 / The Silenced Voices of Tango / Prof. Brizuela / SP25: Explore Your Topic

Explore Your Topic

Reference sources, like dictionaries and encyclopedias, are useful tools to explore a topic of interest and start your research. They can provide you with a broad overview of a topic and help you gather preliminary information about it.

Tips:

Start broad to explore (e.g., tango)
Search a dancer or musician name (e.g., Facundo Posadas)
Search for keywords or concepts related to tango: musical or dance style (e.g., el tango milonguero), instruments (e.g., bandoneón), performances (e.g., Tango Argentino), etc.
Many articles include a list of works cited or a bibliography at the end. Take note of titles of interest and search them in Library Search.

Encyclopedias

International Encyclopedia of Dance by Selma Jeanne Cohen; Dance Perspectives Foundation
Publication Date: 2004
In addition to historical and descriptive materials on dance music and costume, numerous entries provide coverage of methodologies, theories, criticism and the history of dance writing and publication.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance by Dennis Kennedy (Editor)
Call Number: PN2035 .O92 2003
Publication Date: 2003
This encyclopedia provides authoritative and up-to-date information about theatre and performance from ancient Greek theatre to the latest developments in London, Paris, New York, and around the globe. In addition to performances in playhouses, it covers dance, opera, radio, film, television, and popular performance, including carnivals, circus, and public executions. Entries range from short definitions of terms to lengthy considerations of genres and movements, such as feminism and psychoanalytic criticism. Entries on cities and regions place performance in its local social and political context.
The Queer Encyclopedia of Music, Dance, and Musical Theater by Claude J. Summers
Call Number: ML100 .Q44 2004
ISBN: 9781573441988
Publication Date: 2004-11-24
An encyclopedic volume by the scholars of GLBTQ featuring over 200 articles showcasing composers, singers, musicians, dancers, and choreographers across eras and styles.

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography by Franklin W Knight (Editor); Henry Louis Gates Jr. (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199935802
Publication Date: 2016
A major biographical reference work covering the lives and legacies of notable Afro-descendants from the Caribbean and Latin American, men and women from all eras and walks of life including philosophers, politicians, activists, entertainers, scholars, poets, scientists, religious figures, kings, and everyday people whose lives have contributed to the history of the Caribbean and Latin America.
The Oxford Dictionary of Dance by Debra Craine; Judith Mackrell
ISBN: 9780191727658
Publication Date: 2010
Covers all aspects of dance performance and the diverse dance world from classical ballet to modern, from flamenco to hip-hop, from tap to South Asian dance forms. Includes detailed entries on technical terms, steps, styles, works, and countries, in addition to many biographies of dancers, choreographers, and companies. Charts developments that have occurred over the last ten years, including the rise of new digital technology in the creation and staging of dance and the move to the mainstream of formerly fringe genres such as hip-hop, as well as the arrival of a new generation of dancers and choreographers to the scene.