Research Guides: Sociology: Find sources

Background sources

Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database of encyclopedias and dictionaries for information on people, events, and theories.
Includes collections in areas such as education, the environment, history, law, medicine, religion, social sciences, and more.
Language: English
Keywords: GVRL
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Contains the full-text of reference books on a wide variety of subjects.
Bilingual dictionaries offer translations between English and French, German, Irish, Italian, Latin, Spanish, and Welsh.
Language: English

The Concise Encyclopedia of Sociology by George Ritzer; J. Michael Ryan (Editor)
ISBN: 9781405183536
Publication Date: 2011-01-25
Contains over 800 entries from the whole breadth of the discipline.
Encyclopedia of Sociology Research by Miranda O. Parker (Editor); Alexander D. Petrov (Editor)
ISBN: 9781613246689
Publication Date: 2011-09-01
This book presents current research and findings in the study of sociology. Topics discussed include social capital, entrepreneurial capital and economic growth; disruption of social development in children with autism spectrum disorders; children's social interactions in cultural context; everyday theorising and the construction of knowledge; participation, pedagogy and practice in design education; community participation in formulating sustainable forest policy; increasing the economic sustainability of online communities and a comparison between theoretical and naive definitions of community.
The Sage Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods by Lisa M. Given (Editor)
ISBN: 9781452265896
Publication Date: 2008
Defines and explains core concepts, describes the techniques involved in the implementation of qualitative methods, and presents an overview of qualitative approaches to research.

Use the following databases to find articles and other materials on specific topics in sociology in scholarly journals.

Use the Databases A-Z list for the complete list of sociology-related databases.

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Cover's the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Language: English, French, Spanish, Portuguese, German
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
The primary database for Black Studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, and historical newspapers.
Includes full-text of The Chicago Defender (1910-1975), the online index to Black Literature (1827-1940), the Black Studies Periodicals Database, and the content from the African American Biographical Database.
Language: English
Keywords: BSC
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
This database includes citations for scholarly journal articles, books, magazine and newspaper articles, and other publications about Chicanos, Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants.
Language: English, Spanish
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports, and conference proceedings devoted to women and gender studies.
Includes topics such as sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace.
Language: English
Keywords: Gender Watch

Los Angeles Times (current) This link opens in a new window
Complete, full-text content of local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
Does not include ads, images, or other web-only content
Language: English
New York Times, Historical This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Access full page scans of the print edition of The New York Times newspaper complete with advertisements.
Content type: Newspaper articles, advertisements
Coverage dates: 1851-2012
Language: English
Keywords: NYT ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals from minority-owned and operated publications.
Includes unique community publications as well as top scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies.
Language: English, Spanish, French, etc.
Keywords: News Watch
America's News This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of local and regional newspapers.
Includes historical and current content for the Sacremento Bee, the San Diego Union Tribune, and the San Francisco Chronicle. Paid advertisements are excluded.
Language: English
Keywords: NewsBank News Bank

Sociology-related books have the following call numbers, most of which are on the 1st floor of Mudd.

HM1- Sociology (General)

HN1- Social History and Conditions

HQ1- Sexuality

HQ503- Family, Marriage, Home

HQ1073- Death, Dying

HQ1075- Sex Role

HQ1088- Men

HQ1101- Women, Feminism

HS1- Societies (Secret, Benevolent, etc)

HT101- Urban Groups, Urban Sociology

HT401- Rural Groups, Rural Sociology

HT601- Classes

HT1501- Races

HV40- Social Service, Social Work

HV551- Emergency Management

HV697- Protection, Assistance and Relief

HV4701- Animal Rights

HV5001- Alcoholism

HV5725- Tobacco, Drug Habits

HV6001- Criminology

HV6035- Criminal Anthropology

HV6201- Criminal Classes

HV6250- Victims of Crime

HV6251- Crimes and Offenses

HV6774- Crimes and Criminal Classes

HV7231- Criminal Justice Admin

HV7431- Prevention of Crime, Methods

HV7435- Gun Control

HV7551- Police, Detectives

HV8301- Penology, Prisons, Correction