Research Guides: Music: Get Started

Getting Started in Music

Welcome! This guide is designed to help you find resources in Music.

If you are new to conducting research:

Consider reviewing the New to Using the Library tutorial to better understand the phases and processes of doing research.

The following call numbers are useful if you wish to browse the collection:

CCL uses the Library of Congress Classification System to organize books in the library.
- LC Classification -M - Music Scores
- LC Classification - ML - Literature on Music
- LC Classification - MT - Instruction and Study

Start your Music research with these key resources:

Harvard Dictionary of Music This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Find quick definitions for musical terms, styles, performance markings, and other musical information.
Content type: Reference materials, bibliographies
Coverage dates: 2003
Short bibliographies included for longer entries.
Language: English
Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Index to articles relating to music, most full text.
Most full-text coverage dates from 1996-present, with some journals dating from as early as 1874.
Language: English, German, Spanish, French, Italian, Polish, etc.
Keywords: IIMP, International Index to Music Periodicals
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts to scholarly articles, conference proceedings, dissertations, book and audio reviews from international sources.
Very international database with coverage in hundreds of languages and includes specialized subject headings. Current coverage includes: conference proceedings (1835-present), Festschriften (1840-present), periodicals (1967-present).
Language: English, German, French, Russian, Italian, Spanish, Chinese, Polish, etc.
Keywords: International Repertory of Music Literature
Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online This link opens in a new window
Articles about music within world cultural contexts. Full-text to the I0-volume Garland Encyclopedia of World Music..
Encyclopedia volumes organized by geographic area. Includes streaming access to companion CDs for each volume.
Language: English
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Great entry point for information on composers, performers, genres, and instruments in art music, jazz, rock, and pop.
Content type: Encyclopedia articles, reference materials, bibliographies, images
Extensive bibliographies include further resources, lists of works and locations of manuscripts for composers. No individual account is required but can be created to save personal searches.
Language: English
Keywords: New Grove Dictionary Companion
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Specialized list for music.
Language: English

To see a full list of available music databases, visit the A-Z Databases page:

Library Databases A-Z, Music
See the full list of databases the Claremont Colleges Library subscribes to for articles, scores, recordings, and more in the music subject area.

Related Research Guides

Dance Research Guide
Includes information about music related to dance.
Theater Research Guide
Includes resources relating to musical theatre.

Arts and Humanities Librarian

Andrea Ketterer

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Research, Teaching, & User Services
The Claremont Colleges Library

909 607-8626

Subjects: Dance, English, Media Studies, Music, Theatre, Writing & Rhetoric