Research Guides: English Language & Literature: Find Background Information

Finding Literary and Critical Theory

Oxford Dictionary of Critical Theory
An oft-updated dictionary of critical theory, including actual critical theories and biographies of important figures.

Reference Sources for Background Information

Reference sources are useful for finding overviews and background information on a topic, including terminology and key names, dates and concepts. Many reference sources also provide extensive bibliographies that list the important and influential scholarship on a given topic.

Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Why search here? The dictionary of record for the English language, including the origins, etymology, and both historical and modern meanings of words.
Content type: Dictionary entries
Includes interactive features, Word of the Day, commentaries on words by authors and editors, as well as the Oxford Historical Thesaurus.
Language: English

Literature Reference Sources

Oxford Reference Online: Literature
Literary reference works published by Oxford University Press
Gale Reference Works: Literature
Over 75 literature reference sources

Biographies

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Focus on biographies of writers and text of their literary works, with some literary criticism available.
Content type: Primary sources, literary works, biographical information, critical essays, reviews
Includes a "Person Search" and "Works Search" to gather multiple resources on specific authors and titles.
Language: English
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Good for scholarly background information on significant figures in English and Irish history and culture.
Content type: Encyclopedia articles, images
Special Note: Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Language: English