Research Guides: Physics: Find Primary Literature

Finding Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Articles

When you want to peer-reviewed, scholarly articles use these databases:

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Great for discovering scholarly research across a wide array of subject areas, primarily published in high-impact (highly cited) journals in the physical and life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles, conference proceedings, book chapters
Coverage dates: 1965-present
Easily explore an article bibliography, as well as sources that have cited the article since its publication, via the Citation Network feature. Create a free personal account to keep a comprehensive search history, create search alerts and citation alerts. Additional features related to author and journal profiles are available.
Language: English, Russian, French, German, Chinese, Spanish, Japanese, Portuguese, etc.
Text Mining: Allowed; only through Clarivate APIs
Keywords: Social Science Citation Index Science Citation Index Arts and Humanities Citation Index Conference Proceedings Citation Index Emerging Sources Citation Index WoS Knowledge

SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System
From Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory, under a NASA grant, contains abstracts, citations, preprints, and archives for materials in physics, astronomy, and related fields.

IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Access scientific and technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and partner publishers.
Content type: Scholarly articles, conference proceedings, technical standards, eBooks, magazine articles
Language: English
Keywords: Explore

SCOAP3 - Sponsoring Consortium for Open Access Publishing in Particle Physics
Open access to key journals in the field of High-Energy Physics.

Browse Physics Journals

Explore the library's licensed, electronic scholarly journals using Browzine, an application that allows you to browse, read, save, and monitor scholarly journals in your subject areas on your mobile device or desktop/laptop.

Mobile version: To enjoy the Browzine experience on your mobile device or tablet download it to your iPad, iPhone, or Android device from the App Store, Google Play, or Amazon (Android only). When you open BrowZine for the first time, you’ll see a list of schools – select Claremont Colleges Library, then enter your college NetID and password.

Browse Physics Journals
Browse electronic journals in Pysics using the link above, or explore one of the top titles below.
Astronomy and Astrophysics
Astronomy & Astrophysics is an international Journal that publishes papers on all aspects of astronomy and astrophysics (theoretical, observational, and instrumental) independently of the techniques used to obtain the results.
Journal of Experimental and Theoretical Physics
Emphasizes fundamental
theoretical and experimental research in all fields of physics, from solids and liquids to elementary particles and astrophysics.

Get This Item

Once you have found articles you want to read, the button provides a quick way to find any available online full-text copies or request electronic copies through Interlibrary Loan.

Step 1: first looks for any full text of your article that is available in the library's online resources. If it finds full text it will take you to a page where you can open the full text as either html or pdf.

Step 2: If the library doesn't have electronic access to the article you need, you can request a copy through Resource Sharing. Simply click on the "Request Item" button located towards the bottom of the record. Within a few days, you will receive an email from the library with a link to a downloadable copy of the article you requested.