Research Guides: Jane Austen: Finding Secondary Sources

What Are Secondary Sources?

Secondary sources:

analyze primary sources or report on events from a second-hand perspective
can be written by scholars and published in peer-reviewed journals and books
can be written by journalists, bloggers, non-experts for a general audience and published online, in magazines, newspapers

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Why search here? The main database of critical scholarship on all modern literatures and languages, also covering linguistics, folklore, film and media studies.
Content type: Scholarly articles, books, dissertations
Coverage dates: 1963-present
Language: English, French, German, Spanish, Italian, Russian, etc.
Keywords: Modern Language Association
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Focus on biographies of writers and text of their literary works, with some literary criticism available.
Content type: Primary sources, literary works, biographical information, critical essays, reviews
Includes a "Person Search" and "Works Search" to gather multiple resources on specific authors and titles.
Language: English

Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Search for scholarly and popular sources about gender and women's studies topics.
Content type: Scholarly articles, reviews, magazine articles, newspaper articles, dissertations
Coverage dates: 1750-present
Language: English, French, German, Spanish, etc.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Access scholarly and popular literature on the impact of gender on a broad spectrum of subject areas such as the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles.
Content type: Scholarly articles, magazine articles, newspaper articles, dissertations and theses, blogs
Coverage dates: 1970s - present
Includes topics such as sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace.
Language: English
Keywords: Gender Watch
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Why search here? The main index for scholarship in early modern to present day World History, excluding United States and Canadian history.
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles, magazine articles, dissertations and theses, books
Coverage dates: 1953-present
Language: English, French, German, Spanish, etc.

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Why search here? The main index for scholarship in early modern to present day World History, excluding United States and Canadian history.
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles, magazine articles, dissertations and theses, books
Coverage dates: 1953-present
Language: English, French, German, Spanish, etc.

Library Search!
Provides access to resources owned by the Claremont Colleges Library, and to millions of resources from other libraries worldwide. In addition to physical materials housed in the library, Library Search also provides access to online sources (eBooks, articles, dissertations, and streaming video and audio).
Items (mostly books) in the Library whose subject is Jane Austen or her works