Research Guides: Theatre: Find Plays

Plays in Full-Text

Literature Online This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Good for full-text drama, poetry, and prose from the 1600s through the 2000s written in English, in addition to literary criticism.
Content type: Primary sources, biographical information, dissertations, reviews, critical essays, literary works, videos
Criticism includes the database ABELL.
Language: English
Black Drama: Third Edition This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Discover the full-text of plays, playbills, photographs, and ephemera for Black playwrights from North America, Africa, the Caribbean, and African diaspora countries, spanning from the mid-1800s to the present.
Content type: Plays, primary sources, images
Coverage dates: 1860s-present
Most content dates from the mid-twentieth century.
Language: English
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Why search here? To access some of the earliest printed works in English, published in England, Scotland, Ireland, and other countries.
Content type: Primary sources, books
Coverage dates: 1470-1700
In addition to English, sources in Latin, Algonquian languages, and many others are included. New content is added once per year.
Language: English
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Good for getting a sense of what constituted knowledge in eighteenth century England, Ireland, and Scotland, including journals and diaries, religious materials, creative works, and political documents.
Content type: Primary sources, books, pamphlets, diaries, broadsides
Coverage dates: 1701-1800
Includes some (but not many) works from other countries and in other languages.
Language: English, French, Latin
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Explore materials spanning a wide variety of languages, subjects, and formats, including full text access to those in the public domain and limited search for those still under copyright.
Content type: eBooks, government reports, scholarly articles, primary sources, reference materials, biographies, conference proceedings
Special Note: To download content you must login by selecting your college.
HathiTrust is a collective of academic and research libraries that digitizes materials, whether they are in-copyright or the public domain, for the purpose of preservation. Eligible students with a print disability can request a copy of any book in the collection, regardless of copyright status.
Language: English, German, French, Spanish, Russian, Chinese, Japanese, Arabic, etc.
Keywords: Hathi Trust