Chinese Studies

Ch'en Shou-yi Papers consists of Prof. Chen's Correspondences, photos, private library collections, work notes, manuscripts, etc. donated to the Claremont Colleges Library by his family. This valuable archival collection is now housed in the Special Collection Room of the Asian Library at the Claremont Colleges Library.

During 2013-2014, the correspondences and photos in the Ch'en Shou-yi Papers were digitized and catalogued through the joint effort and collaboration between the Claremont Colleges Library, the Academia Sinica Center for Digital Cultures, and the Institute of Taiwan History of Academia Sinica (ITH). This part of the Ch'en Shou-yi archive highlights his connections and correspondence with key figures of modern Chinese intellectual history, such as Hu Shih (胡适），Fu Sinian ( 傅斯年），Lin Yutang (林語堂），Jiang Menglin ( 蔣夢麟）。 The original materials and items are owned and kept at the Claremont Colleges Library, but users are now able to search and browse the correspondence and photos via a digital platform created by the Institute of Taiwan History of Academia Sinica. Image print and the use of the originals are by permission only from the Claremont Colleges Library.

The California College in China Collection consists of about five hundred titles of works in history, literature, and local gazetteers. There are original editions of the Ming and Qing dynasties and the early 19th century. There are also fifty Chinese serial titles in original editions.

The California College in China Collection is located in two different places: Chinese language materials are part of the Asian Library's collection; and English language materials, particularly the William B. Pettus papers, are in Special Collections.

The China Missionaries Oral History Project is a series of interviews conducted by the Claremont Graduate School of Oral History Program in 1970 and 1971 that recorded and transcribed the experiences of missionaries to China. Missionaries interviewed came from several denominations and geographical locations in China.

In 1969 The Henry Luce Foundation, Incorporated, made a grant to the Oral History Program, Claremont Graduate School, to tape record interviews with former
China missionaries. The goal of this project is to produce interview manuscripts dealing with the interaction of Western values with traditional Chinese values which led to the emergence of modern China. Forty-four persons who were engaged in Christian work in China have been interviewed and their interviews placed in The China Missionaries Collection.

The collection contain correspondence, diaries, writings, photographs, reports, article clippings, and booklets that document the experiences of American missionaries and educators in China. This collection was assembled through the China Missionaries Oral History Project at Claremont Graduate School from 1969-1971. The collection covers the years 1889-1972 with the bulk of the material ranging from 1910-1950. Finding aid is available.