Research Guides: Biology: Chemical and Lab Safety

Government Agencies and Chemical Safety

EPA Substance Registry Service
The Substance Registry Service (SRS) is the system used by the EPA to keep information about substances tracked or regulated by the EPA. Includes information on chemicals, biological organisms, and other substances of interest to the EPA and partners.
National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH)
The National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) is part of the CDC and focuses on research and recommendations for the prevention of work related injury and illness.
Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA)
The US Department of Labor Occupational Safety and Health Administration Website. Includes a section on Laboratories and what standards apply as well as a chemical database, a complete A-Z list and other safety related information.
Toxic Substances Portal
The Department of Health and Human Services's Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry Web site. Provides an alphabetic list of substances and includes information about characteristics, exposure risks, associated health effects and related CDC and ATSDR health studies and assessments.
TOXNET has moved
The TOXicology Data NETwork was a group of databases managed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Many of these databases are still available, integrated into other products or services. They contain information on chemicals and drugs, diseases, environmental health, occupational safety and health, poisoning, risk assessment and regulations, and toxicology.

MSDS

Safety Data Sheets (SDS), or Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS), are guides to hazardous materials. These are often created and distributed by chemical manufacturers, distributors, or importers.

In 2012 the Occupational Safety & Health Administration required SDSs to be presented in a standardized 16 section format. These sections include:

Properties of each chemical
Physical, health, and environmental hazards
Protective measures
Safety precautions for handling, storage, and transportation

There is no single source or databases that collects all SDSs for all possible chemicals and solutions; however, below are some resources for finding MSDSs or SDSs. You can find similar property information in databases like SciFinder Scholar.

Where to Find SDS Sheets on the Internet
This frequently-updated website provides links to free sources of SDSs, as well as a helpful FAQ section about SDSs and MSDSs.
MSDS Solutions Center
4.5+ Million MSDS. Powered by #E Company.

Lab Safety

Prudent Practices in the Laboratory by National Research Council Staff
ISBN: 9780309138659
Publication Date: 2011
Offers laboratory practices designed to promote safety and includes practical information on assessing hazards, managing chemicals, disposing of wastes, and more.
Personal Protective Equipment for Chemical, Biological, and Radiological Hazards by Eva F. Dickson
ISBN: 9781118422915
Publication Date: 2012
Personal protective equipment (PPE) is critical for those dealing with toxic, infectious, and radioactive materials....Covering the physics, chemistry, and physiology of these hazards, the book explains how PPE protects from various forms of hazards as well as how to use this information to select PPE against these highly hazardous substances.

Laboratory Safety Institute
LSI's mission is "to make health and safety an integral and important part of science education, our work, and our lives." The site provides links to safety guidelines, checklists and other sources for lab safety. There are links to seminars, workshops, internships, sabbaticals, a listserv and an online newsletter.