Research Guides: Middle Eastern / North African History: Scholarship and Reference

Scholarly Resources in the History of the Middle East and North Africa

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Why search here? The main index for scholarship in early modern to present day World History, excluding United States and Canadian history.
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles, magazine articles, dissertations and theses, books
Coverage dates: 1953-present
Language: English, French, German, Spanish, etc.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Good starting point when researching topics that intersect with multiple disciplines.
Content type: Scholarly articles, newspaper articles, magazine articles, trade journal articles
Coverage dates: 1887-present; varies by title
Language: English, Spanish, Russian, Portuguese, Turkish, French, Chinese, Arabic etc.
Keywords: ASP
Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Find scholarly articles and books on Islam and the Muslim World.
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles, books
Coverage dates: 1906-present
Language: English, French, Spanish, German, Russian, Italian, Dutch, Portuguese, etc.
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Good for research on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide in Western languages.
Content type: Abstracts, scholarly articles, book chapters, conference proceedings
Coverage dates: 1971-present
Language: English, German, French, Spanish
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Main database for scholarship on the subjects of religious studies, theology, and philosophy.
Content type: Scholarly articles, book reviews, abstracts
Coverage dates: 1949-present
Language: English, German, French, Spanish, Italian, Korean, etc.
Keywords: American Theological Library Association Collection
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Good for finding scholarly articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology from two major disciplinary databases, Anthropological Index Online and Anthropological Literature.
Content type: Scholarly articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, obituaries
Coverage dates: 1700s- present
Language: English, German, French, Spanish, Italian, etc.

Use the Library Search or Advanced Library Search with keywords from your topic to find books, articles and more here in Claremont and beyond.

Reference

Encyclopaedia of Islam This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Search for background information and bibliographies about Islam and Islamic Studies ranging from topics in history, politics, religion, and culture.
Content type: Reference materials
Coverage dates: 1913-present
This database includes second and third editions of the encyclopedia. It is continuously updated.
Language: English
Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Search for a dictionary of Qu'ranic terms, concepts, personalities, places, history, and interpretations.
Content type: Reference materials
Language: English