Primary & Reference - Ancient - Ancient Greece & Rome / Ancient World - Research Guides at The Claremont Colleges Library

Primary and Reference Resources in Ancient European History

Digital Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Full collection of Greek and Latin texts in the original languages side-by-side with English translations.
Content type: Primary sources
Including epic and lyric poetry, tragedy, comedy, history, travel, philosophy, oratory, medical writers, mathematicians, and Church Fathers.
Language: Ancient Greek, Latin, English
Keywords: classics ancient
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window
Why search here? For detailed examination of Greek literature 8 BCE to the Fall of Byzantium in 1453 CE, explore full text with word analysis of individuals phrases and words (lemma).
Content type: Primary Sources with annotations
Special Note: Create a free user name and password to use the database.
Includes links to English translations.
Language: English, Ancient Greek, Medieval Greek
Patrologia Latina This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Main database for full Latin text of the Church Fathers from Tertullian (200 AD) to Pope Innocent III's death (1216).
Content type: Primary sources
Coverage dates: 200-1216
Online access to 1st ed. of Jacques-Paul Migne's text (1844-1855) and indexes (1862-1865).
Language: Latin
Keywords: Christianity Classics

Perseus Digital Library (Project Perseus)
A website hosted at Tufts University collecting historical materials from ancient, medieval and modern periods, but including Greek and Latin classics, some in English, some in Greek and Latin -- as well as Papyri. Includes many supplementary, secondary texts.

Brill's New Pauly Online This link opens in a new window
English edition of the authoritative ancient world reference, Der Neue Pauly, published by Verlag J.B. Metzler since 1996. The unrivaled modern reference work for the ancient world and Greco-Roman antiquity.
From the German Neue Pauly. For display issues in Chrome, please clear the cache.
Language: English

FastiOnline
Open Repository of excavation reports

Past Masters Full Text Humanities This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Access to full text of scholarly editions in literature, philosophy, and theology, plus correspondence of selected authors.
Content type: Books, correspondence
Language: English

Primary Sources in Library Catalogs

Primary sources of all types can also be found in our regular, circulating books, in special collections, and beyond. Here are few ways to find primary texts and sources by using our own Library Search.

1. Use the author search to find books we have by a particular author, politician, journalist or another type of historical witness

2. Do an advanced keyword search in The Library Search and then limit by publication year under “limit your search”) (note: you can also limit by language and many other ways)

3. . Do an advanced keyword in Library Search and then limit to the word "sources" in the subject field (by using the dropdown menu), for example:

"ancient greece and medicine" in the keyword field

"sources" in the subject field.

(this brings us the Library of Congress Subject subheading “sources” which is sometimes used to designate primary source collections of different kinds — as in:

medicine-greece-history-sources

A rich source of primary materials is Honnold/Mudd Special Collections and its librarians.