You are also required to find Primary Resources for your paper, which you are also required to find for your paper, as well as books that provide background information.
Bibliographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks can provide you with relevant background information for topics in Chicana/o-Latina/o Studies. Use Library Search to begin your searching. If you need further assistance, please feel free to contact a librarian to set up an appointment.
Selected sources for Background Information:
Immigration in America Today: an encyclopedia
The Handbook of Hispanic Cultures in the United States
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States
A landmark scholarly work, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States offers comprehensive, reliable, and accessible information about the fastest growing minority population in the nation. With an unprecedented scope and cutting-edge scholarship, the Encyclopedia draws together the diverse historical and contemporary experiences in the United States of Latinos and Latinas from Mexico, Puerto Rico, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Central America, South America, Europe, Asia, and the Middle East. Over 900 A to Z articles ranging in length from 500 words to 7,500 words written by academics, scholars, writers, artists, and journalists, address such broad topics as identity, art, politics, religion, education, health, and history. Each entry has its own bibliography and cross-references and is signed by its author. Essential for scholarly and professional researchers as well as the classroom and library, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States will fill a void in the historical scholarship of an under-served population.
Encyclopedia Latina: history, culture and society in the United States
