Research Guides: CMC HIST 126 / History of Medicine in the U.S. / FA25: Find Scholarly Sources and Book Reviews

Find Scholarly Articles and Books

Use the following recommended databases to find secondary sources, like journal articles and books, that will help you analyze your source.

When you identify an article of interest, use the green "Get this item" button to see if the Library has the item available or to request it from Resource Sharing.

America History and Life
Main database for scholarly sources in US and Canadian History. Also a place to find book reviews

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine

Why search here? Find scholarly articles and books on the history of science, technology and medicine
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles, books

Covers scientific developments from prehistory to the present across scientific disciplines such as biology, computer science, engineering, geography, mathematics, neuroscience, pharmacy, physics, psychiatry, and public health.
Language: English, Italian, German, French, Spanish, Russian, Dutch, Polish, etc.
MEDLINE

Why search here? Great for exploring research in biomedicine, public health, clinical care, bioengineering, and plant and animal sciences, run by the National Library of Medicine but using the interface and features familiar to users of Web of Science.
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles, case reports, clinical trials, systematic reviews, meta-analyses
Coverage dates: 1800s-present

MeSH headings and qualifiers are available for both searching and filtering your results. Easily explore an article bibliography, as well as sources that have cited the article since its publication, via the Citation Network feature. Create a free personal account to keep a comprehensive search history, create search alerts and citation alerts. Additional features related to author and journal profiles are available.
Language: English, German, French, Russian, Chinese, Spanish, Japanese, Italian, etc.
Keywords: WoS

Library Search!
Provides access to resources owned by the Claremont Colleges Library, and to millions of resources from other libraries worldwide. In addition to physical materials housed in the library, Library Search also provides access to online sources (eBooks, articles, dissertations, and streaming video and audio).

PsycINFO

Why search here? Discover scholarly articles and research in psychology and behavioral and social sciences.
Content type: Scholarly articles, magazine articles, dissertations, books
Coverage dates: 1600s-present

One great feature is the ability to limit by methodology.
Language: English, German, French, Spanish
Keywords: APA Psyc Info

Find Book Reviews

To find book reviews using Library Search:

Go to the Library Search bar on the Library homepage.
In the search box, type the title of the book.
Use the filters and choose Format - Article, Chapter. Book reviews are often labeled as articles or reviews.
Review the results and read a review by clicking the purple "View PDF" or "View full text" button.

Example search:

Type the book title: Herbs and Roots: A History of Chinese Doctors in the American Medical Marketplace

Advanced (optional): Use an index code (keyword = kw:): kw:"Herbs and Roots"

Using Advanced Library Search (Video)
Learn how to use the Advanced Search feature in Library Search to craft your searches to find relevant resources efficiently.