Research Guides: PIT FYS / Reasoning About the Unreasonable / B. Keeley / FA25: Find the Resources You Need

Find Scholarly Articles (Selected Databases)

Academic Search Premier

Why search here? Good starting point when researching topics that intersect with multiple disciplines.
Content type: Scholarly articles, newspaper articles, magazine articles, trade journal articles
Coverage dates: 1887-present; varies by title

Language: English, Spanish, Russian, Portuguese, Turkish, French, Chinese, Arabic etc.
Keywords: ASP
Web of Science

Why search here? Great for discovering scholarly research across a wide array of subject areas, primarily published in high-impact (highly cited) journals in the physical and life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles, conference proceedings, book chapters
Coverage dates: 1965-present

Easily explore an article bibliography, as well as sources that have cited the article since its publication, via the Citation Network feature. Create a free personal account to keep a comprehensive search history, create search alerts and citation alerts. Additional features related to author and journal profiles are available.
Language: English, Russian, French, German, Chinese, Spanish, Japanese, Portuguese, etc.
Text Mining: Allowed; only through Clarivate APIs
Keywords: Social Science Citation Index Science Citation Index Arts and Humanities Citation Index Conference Proceedings Citation Index Emerging Sources Citation Index WoS Knowledge
America: History and Life

Why search here? Useful for anthropological and historical research concerning the United States and Canada from pre-history to the present.
Content type: Scholarly articles, magazine articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, books
Coverage dates: 1914-present

Language: English, French, Russian, German, Spanish, etc.
Historical Abstracts

Why search here? The main index for scholarship in early modern to present day World History, excluding United States and Canadian history.
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles, magazine articles, dissertations and theses, books
Coverage dates: 1953-present

Language: English, French, German, Spanish, etc.
Philosopher's Index

Why search here? The main database for finding scholarship in philosophy, including peer-reviewed books .
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles, books

Broader than PhilPapers; it covers the areas of ethics, aesthetics, epistemology, logic, and metaphysics as well as material on the philosophy of disciplines, such as law, religion, science, history, and education.
Language: English, Spanish, Italian, German, French, Portuguese, Polish, Turkish, etc.
PsycINFO

Why search here? Discover scholarly articles and research in psychology and behavioral and social sciences.
Content type: Scholarly articles, magazine articles, dissertations, books
Coverage dates: 1600s-present

One great feature is the ability to limit by methodology.
Language: English, German, French, Spanish
Keywords: APA Psyc Info
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text

Why search here? The main database of critical scholarship on all modern literatures and languages, also covering linguistics, folklore, film and media studies.
Content type: Scholarly articles, books, dissertations
Coverage dates: 1963-present

Language: English, French, German, Spanish, Italian, Russian, etc.
Keywords: Modern Language Association
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Why search here? Discover abstracts and citations from leading political science journals.
Content type: Abstracts and citations for scholarly articles, monographs, magazine articles, dissertations, theses
Coverage dates: 1975-present

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts is the electronic counterpart and continuation of the print publication Political Science Abstracts.
Language: English, Spanish, French, Portuguese, German
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials PLUS

Why search here? Main database for scholarship on the subjects of religious studies, theology, and philosophy.
Content type: Scholarly articles, book reviews, abstracts
Coverage dates: 1949-present

Language: English, German, French, Spanish, Italian, Korean, etc.
Keywords: American Theological Library Association Collection

Finding Popular Magazine and Newspaper Articles

Academic Search Premier

Why search here? Good starting point when researching topics that intersect with multiple disciplines.
Content type: Scholarly articles, newspaper articles, magazine articles, trade journal articles
Coverage dates: 1887-present; varies by title

Language: English, Spanish, Russian, Portuguese, Turkish, French, Chinese, Arabic etc.
Keywords: ASP
Nexis Uni

Why search here? Search here for comprehensive coverage of news and current events, government, business, medical, and legal topics, as well as general reference information.
Content type: Newspaper articles, trade journal articles, broadcast transcripts, financial reports, federal and state case law, medical abstracts, corporate profiles
Coverage dates: 1980-present

Language: English, Spanish, French, Dutch, German, Portuguese
Keywords: Lexis Nexis
Ethnic NewsWatch

Why search here? Search here for full text articles from newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
Content type: Scholarly articles, newspaper articles, magazine articles, trade journal articles, dissertations and theses, conference proceedings, blogs
Coverage dates: 1959-present

Includes unique community publications as well as top scholarly journals on ethnicities and ethnic studies.
Language: English, Spanish, French, etc.
Keywords: News Watch
New York Times (current)

Why search here? Search here for the full-text of the current print editions of The New York Times newspaper.
Content type: Newspaper articles
Coverage dates: 1980-present

Excludes website-only content. This subscription is not the same as a subscription to the New York Times website, which is offered to students through some of the 5Cs.
Language: English
Keywords: NYT
Los Angeles Times (current)

Why search here? Includes current access to the LA Times, the major newspaper for Southern California.
Content type: Newspaper articles
Coverage dates: 1985-present

Does not include ads, images, or other web-only content
Language: English