Skip to Main Content
Library open only to current Claremont Colleges students, faculty, and staff: Tuesday, December 6 - Thursday, December 15.
Exceptions include those visiting Bookstore, Cafe, and Special Collections Appointments. More info on Blackout Dates for Community Access.

SCR ART 192 / Senior Project and Seminar in Art / Ogasian/ Fall 2022

Citing in your Final Paper

As a reminder, for this paper you will be using Chicago Manual of Style. Within Chicago style there are actual two varieties of citation systems: author-date and notes-bibliography. For this paper, you'll be using the notes-bibliography system of Chicago. In this mode, you cite your sources with a footnote in the text and then have a corresponding full bibliographic entry for the source in your reference list.

Don't forget, if you ever have questions about citations or citation managers, you can reach out to me and I'll be happy to help!

Get Started Using Zotero

Citation Managers are tools to help you keep track of your citations as you research and to create/format your citations and bibliography. For example, Zotero allows you to keep citations, full text articles, and other research resources organized in one place. You can also use these tools to format your bibliographies and the notes/citations in your papers according to the appropriate style (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.).

Watch this video to learn more about Zotero

Pitfalls of Automatic Citation Managers/Formatters and Art Books

If you are using a citation manager such as Zotero, or any other tool that automatically formats citations, you must be very careful when citing art books. Many art books are listed in library catalogs with the artist as author of the book, even if they were dead when it was written.

For example, this book was published in 2009, over 30 years after Picasso died

The auto formatted citation will be

Picasso, Pablo, Yve-Alain. Bois, and Palazzo del Vittoriano (Rome, Italy). 2009. Picasso Harlequin, 1917-1937. Milano: Skira.

but the correct citation is

Alain-Bois, Yves, ed. 2009. Picasso Harlequin, 1917-1937. Milano: Skira.

Citing Images

Image citations according to the Chicago Manual of Style (14.235)

Artist First-name Last-name, Artwork Title, date, material, dimensions, owner of work (such as museum), location, URL (if you found it online).

Here is an example of this with an actual work of art:

Jean-Auguste-Dominique Ingres, Comtesse d'Haussonville, 1845, oil on canvas, 51 7/8 × 36 1/4 in. (131.8 × 92.1 cm), The Frick Collection, New York, https://collections.frick.org/objects/105.