Hello! Welcome to the Research Guide for HIST 90: : Early American Capitalism
The main purpose of this guide is is for you to learn where to find primary sources for your Group Projects.
You can find primary sources in several different ways. Here are some:
1. Using Library Databases (via this guide, Research Guides, or the Databases page)
2. Using our Special Collections, including The Claremont Digital Library (especially useful for research about Citrus in Southern California)
3. Using The Library Search (which also accesses WorldCat)
4. Using The Hathi Trust and The Internet Archive
5. Searching Google
Listed are a selection of the main tools for finding primary sources on the commodities you are working on and their historical and cultural background. Many more databases are to be found in the full subject guides listed below. There is also a section for finding additional secondary sources should you want to diver deeper. This guide also has sections on Special Collections, search strategies, and citing and citation managers.
Please remember that we are here to help and that you can contact and make appointments with myself and other librarians.
Primary sources of all types can also be found in our regular, circulating books, in special collections, and beyond. Here are few ways to find primary texts and sources by using our own The Library Search.
(timber OR logging OR forest*) in the subject field
"United States" in the subject field
"history" in the subject field
"Sources" in the subject field
This brings us the Library of Congress Subject subheading “sources” which is sometimes used to designate primary source collections of different kinds — as in Wildfires—West (U.S.)—Prevention and control—History—Sources
