Library open only to current Claremont Colleges students, faculty, and staff: Tuesday, December 6 - Thursday, December 15. Exceptions include those visiting Bookstore, Cafe, and Special Collections Appointments. More info on Blackout Dates for Community Access.
The Claremont Colleges Library support studies in Botany with physical and digital collections including over 2200 rare herbals, historic scientific literature, and illustrated botanical books. You can explore The Claremont Colleges Library collection at https://library.claremont.edu.
The Library provides support services for the staff and students of CalBG, members and volunteers of the organization, members of The Claremont Colleges and the general public. Founder Susanna Bixby Bryant’s plan for her botanic garden included a research-quality library. She built a considerable personal collection in her lifetime and that collection continues to be the foundation of the library today.
The library contains nearly 56,000 books and approximately 1,000 print and electronic journals related to the mission of CalBG. The collection also includes journal article reprints, maps, newspaper articles regarding RSABG/CalBG, nursery and seed catalogs. A list of the Library’s California Topographic maps is available here.
Visit the Gardens
Although the RSABG Library is currently closed for access, you may still visit the California Botanic Garden (name changed in Spring 2020). Members may walk up for access while non-members will need to register online for a ticket before arriving.
Aliso: A Journal of Systematic and Evolutionary Botany (RSABG)Aliso is the scientific journal of RSABG. International in scope, it specializes in plant evolutionary biology and systematics. It also features papers on floristics and other facets of botanical research pertaining to the western United States and areas of comparable climate and vegetation. The journal is named for the aliso, the Spanish word used by the early Californians for the western sycamore (Platanus racemosa Nutt.). Published twice a year in print and digital formats, this open-access journal is hosted online by Scholarship@Claremont, the scholarship repository of the Claremont Colleges. Article pdfs can be downloaded back to Volume 1 (1948)
JSTOR Global PlantsDatabase of plant type specimens, reference works, and primary sources (diaries, correspondence, illustrations, photographs) and is an essential resource for research in botany, ecology, and conservation studies