Math Article Search
This is the "Math Resources" page of the "Mathematics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mathematics   Tags: math, mathematics, science  

A research guide to scholarly materials located within library resources.
Last Updated: Mar 27, 2013 URL: http://libguides.libraries.claremont.edu/math Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Math Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Databases for Math

MathSciNet - is the primary search tool for finding articles, conference proceedings, reviews, and journal articles in the field of mathematics. 

Web of Science - covers highly used and highly cited scholarly materials in science back to 1908.  Web of Science also indexes the social science and arts and humanities, making it a great tool for finding scholarly materials across multiple diciplines.  

Google Scholar -is Google's searching across scholarly journals and books, and is great for searching across multiple disciplines.

Academic Search - is Microsoft's answer to Google Scholar.

Directory of Open Access Journals: Mathematics - The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact.  DOAJ journals are high quality, yet freely available.Check for their peer-review status on a case-by-case basis.

arXiv is a great resource for up-to-the-minute articles (pre-prints) across the sciences. Note that these articles are moderated, but not peer-reviewed (yet)

 

Finding Scholarly, Peer Review Articles

When you want to find articles about topics in your area of interest, use the indexing databases (essentially, a huge, searchable bibliography of citations) for that subject.  Subjects have indexing tools specific to the subject, but don't forget to try out indexes that search across disciplines in order to maximize your ability to find materials.  Lots of things we'll own online, but for the things we do not own online, make sure to place a request for that item through Interlibrary Loan

 

Browse Electronic Journals

Easily browse mathematics articles online through our electronic journals portal, located here.  Search for individual titles in the search box, or browse the journals by category using the drop down menu below the search box.  

Watch this short video here for a demonstration on how to browse the math journals we own online - here.

 

Claremont Resources

Honnold Library and the Claremont Center for the Mathematical Sciences built a lab for math and GIS!

The CCMS Software Lab is a collaborative consortium-wide effort that provides timely and much needed software support to any member of the Claremont community who requests it.

 Click here to learn more and find schedules:

CCMS

The Claremont Center for the Mathematical Sciences promotes collaborative research and creative teaching among the institutions of the Consortium

HMC Math logo

HMC Math Fun Facts:  ideas and puzzles that will change the way you think.

Library/Research Software

Profile Image
Sam Kome
Logo - LinkedInLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Honnold/Mudd Library
909.621.8866
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip