This is the "Articles and Books" page of the "German Language and Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

German Language and Literature  

Last Updated: Jun 15, 2012 URL: http://libguides.libraries.claremont.edu/german Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Articles and Books Print Page
  Search: 
 

General Databases

Some of the following databases have full text.  When there is no full text available, use the  button to determine how and when we have an article or book.  Use Illiad to order articles that are not electronically avaible.

  • MLA International Bibliography  Icon
    is the main database for scholarly Literary Criticism for literature in all modern languages. It also is good for finding articles in linguistics.
  • Academic Search Premier
    Our main interdisciplinary index includes both scholarly and non-scholarly articles. A good place to start for any subject.
  • Bibliographie der deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft
    Enormous database of German linguistics and literary studies, covering circa 1985 to 2007. Search Blais under book or journal title to see whether we have access; use Link+ to order books that we do not own; use Illiad to order journal articles for which there is no online access.
  • Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts  Icon
    LLBA provides access to citations for articles on all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, morphology, syntax and semantics, and anthropological linguistics.
    1973-present
  • Historical Abstracts
    The main index for World History from 1450 to the present, for any country with the exception of the U.S. or Canada. For U.S. and Canadian history, use America: History and Life
  • PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International
    Selected citations for journal articles, books, government documents and reports and foreign language publications. Very strong in the field of International Relations. Includes materials on education policy in the U.S. and other countries.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
    The main index for scholarship in Political Science.
 

Finding Books Using the Library Catalog and World Cat

Once you've done a search, click the  icon on upper part of the screen to limit by German or other languages (or year, type of material, etc).
Use Link+  to get copies of books that are checked out already.
 WorldCat includes all types of materials from all types libraries in the United States and some national libraries from other countries, WorldCat is a good place to do a more exasustive search for primary materials and secondary that may not be here at The Colleges.  Searches can also be limited by language.

Browsing the Stacks for German Literature

You can also Browse Literature in the Multi-Tier Stacks

Germanic Languages—General (Dictionaries, Textbooks, and Linguistics) )  (PD1-780): research level

Old Germanic Dialects (PD1001-1350): basic information level

West Germanic Languages—Dutch, Flemish, Frisian  (PF1-1541): basic information level

German Literature—General  (PT1-1360): research level

Middle High German Literature , ca. 1050-1450/1500 (PT 1501-1695): instructional support level

1500-ca. 1700 (PT 1701-1797): instructional support level

1700-ca. 1860/70 (PT 1799-2592): research level

1860/70-1960 (PT2600-2653): research level

1960-present (PT2660-2653): research level

East Germany (PT3701-3746): research level

(PT4801-4897): basic information level

Yiddish – PJ5111-5192

      

    Subject Guide

    Profile Image
    Adam Rosenkranz
    Chat requires JavaScript.
    Contact Info
    Please feel free to contact me through the library Help Widget, or when I'm offline, email me or call me at 909-607-8986 (x73986)
    Send Email
     
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip