•Provides searching of IEEE transactions, journals, magazines and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE Standards.
•Index access to the core conference proceedings and IEEE journals from 1998 to the present.
•Provides access to scholarly science, social science, and arts and humanities journal article citations, with "Get this item" links to fulltext.
•Sciences citation index: 1900-present
•Social sciences citation index: 1956-present
•Arts and humanities citation index: 1997-present
•Great for finding the most important (heavily cited) articles in the sciences and social sciences. Can also be used to find articles citing a known important work on your topic, or related to it based on shared citations.
•Help using this database is available.
•Provides access to citations with abstracts to articles and reviews in Physics, Electrical and Electronics Engineering, Computing and Control, and Information Technology.
•Great for research in the applied sciences.
•THE database for physics, electronics and computing.
The E-print Network is . . .
. . . a vast, integrated network of electronic scientific and technical information created by scientists and research engineers active in their respective fields, all full-text searchable. E-print Network is intended for use by other scientists, engineers, and students at advanced levels.
. . . a gateway to over 35,300 websites and databases worldwide, containing over 5.5 million e-prints in basic and applied sciences, primarily in physics but also including subject areas such as chemistry, biology and life sciences, materials science, nuclear sciences and engineering, energy research, computer and information technologies, and other disciplines of interest to DOE. We hope the E-print Network proves valuable to you in supporting your research initiatives.
"TechXtra is a free service which can help you find articles, books, the best websites, the latest industry news, job announcements, technical reports, technical data, full text eprints, the latest research, thesis & dissertations, teaching and learning resources and more, in engineering, mathematics and computing."
•Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
•Orders your search results by relevance.
The Energy Citations Database (ECD) provides free access to over 2.4 million science research citations with continued growth through regular updates. There are over 267,000 electronic documents, primarily from 1943 forward, available via the database. Citations and documents are made publicly available by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE).
•Contains 300+ 50-to-100-page e-books (expanded lectures) in computer science and engineering that synthesize important research or development topics
•Coverage Dates: 2005–present
•Extent: 325 books when completed (as of Fall 2008)
•Expanded lectures as full-text searchable pdf ebooks, downloadable as whole documents, continually updated — available in print to libraries for nominal fee (on request)
•Series Topics include: (as of 2007/08) (see Synthesis Series): Communications; Computing; Control and Mechatronics; Digital Circuits and Systems; Energy; Engineering; Human Language Technologies; Information Security; Measurement and Instrumentation; Robotics; Signal Processing; Solid State Materials and Devices; Speech and Audio, Image, Video, and Multimedia Processing; Technology, Management, and Entrepreneurship.
"CFD Online is an online center for Computational Fluid Dynamics. Services include several discussion forums, a jobs database, a free CFD reference in the form of a CFD-Wiki, a news and announcement forum, a books guide, an events calendar, and a comprehensive annotated link section with pointers to CFD resources around the world. CFD Online's goal is to offer high-quality web services to the CFD community. The site is independent and not tied to any software vendor."
[Visited Nov'11] eFunda (engineering Fundamentals), launched in 1999, is a website for locating reliable engineering information. The site claims to be "about the basics"--the formulas/standards learned in college courses, with the stated goal of saving users' time by bringing together many types of resources into one place. Although advertisers, partners, and sponsors are clearly labeled and appear to provide considerable support, subscriptions and site licenses are available for academic audiences and professionals. The main page lists six prominent categories. The Materials section is subdivided into Elements, Steels, Alloys (three categories), Polymers, Common Materials, and Miscellaneous Topics. Design includes Springs, Bearings, Beams, Sensors, Fiber Optics, and more. Processes covers such topics as hot and cold forming, and includes Heat Treatments and Machining subtopics. Units consists of Geometric, Kinematics, Kinetics, Currencies, and Miscellaneous areas. Drilling further down into the Units section, the entry for "erg," for example, lists 59 conversions such as barrel oil equivalent, BTU, calorie, and megajoule. Formulas covers Fluid Mechanics, Heat Transfer, Failure Criteria, and Fracture Mechanics, among others. Math, sponsored by Wolfram Research, includes Calculus, Series, Numerical Methods, and Calculators/Plotters.
A search function is available on all pages, and results include a glossary entry and specify a breadcrumb hierarchy. In addition, there are tabs linking to free trade magazine subscriptions, calculators, a member search form, and a forum message board. Other resources include a Directory Service targeting design and manufacturing industries, a company and industry news section, links to catalogs and services, and job postings for employers and seekers. The SpecSearch section links to the Technical Library, which contains searchable publishers, products, and services. eFunda is well organized and easily navigated with a powerful search option. A one-stop resource for a plethora of data/information for engineering or technical school students. Summing Up: Highly recommended. Students of all levels, researchers/faculty, and professionals. -- L. A. Hall, California State University, Sacramento
The purpose of this work is to give the college upper class (or graduate) student a glimpse into some important areas of applicable mathematics along with some experience in traditional and contemporary applications.
[Visited Sep'11] This site offers an appealing and engaging range of 60-second podcasts, broadcast weekly, in six topic areas: Science, Mind, Earth, Space, Tech, and Health. Podcasts discuss current scientific/technical issues in an easily digestible manner for nonscientists. They offer basic background information and present interesting developments on topics ranging from invasive species to learning disabilities, electric cars, women's health, and more. Complementing the pithy, brief podcasts is the Science Talk series with Steve Mirsky, which explores topics in more depth, often through interviews with experts in the field. The transcripts of the podcasts provide links to related information. The podcasts are playable on the Web and available for MP3 download, and can be shared by e-mail or social networking. Site visitors can also register to receive podcasts via RSS feeds. In addition, Scientific American subscribers can post comments about the podcasts. Overall, they are a valuable offering from Scientific American that can serve as a gateway to entice users to further explore other content in this journal; they can also serve as a starting point for additional research on a subject. Summing Up: Recommended. Lower-division undergraduates and general readers. -- K. J. Whitehair, Johnson County Library
Many in industry have criticized higher education engineering and science curricula for neglecting writing and public speaking. This open access, online resource is designed to address this deficiency. Michael Alley (Penn State), lead editor for this site, wrote three highly regarded books on communication in the sciences: The Craft of Scientific Writing (4th ed., 2010), The Craft of Scientific Presentations (2003), and The Craft of Editing (2000). This site makes a strong accompaniment to these resources, but it can also be used independently. The home page is organized by a linked table of contents, beginning with textual guidelines on how to assess one's audience, organize information, and choose a format style. This content is supplemented by free PowerPoint presentation slides for instructor use. Templates of various forms of scientific communication media ranging from e-mails, letters, and technical reports to poster sessions, theses, and journal articles make this resource a solid teaching and self-study tool. An appendix discusses how to document a writer's sources.
Alley's writing, which in itself provides a solid example of how to communicate effectively, is straightforward and precise. The home page contains a streaming video of Alley offering a brief review of his main points on how to best frame a writing project. As a resource for online teaching, this site or select portions of it can be easily embedded in an online course management system. For brick-and-mortar classes, handouts can be generated in HTML or PDF format, and site content can be assigned as supplemental reading. This resource should also be included in university online library guides supporting engineering and science curricula, and university writing centers. In addition, professionals in the field can benefit from the practical advice provided. Summing Up: Highly recommended. All engineering and science students, faculty, and professionals. -- S. M. Frey, Indiana State University