Full text of American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early part of the 19th century.The collection is based on the American Bibliography, 1801-1819 by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. With more than four million pages from over 36,000 items including 1,000 cataloged items previously unavailable in microfilm editions.
Access to the theories, practices, and consequences of economic and business activity in the West. Coverage: from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century. The Making of the Modern World offers researchers new ways to understand the emergence of modern economics and other social sciences. One of the most comprehensive collection in existence for researching the literature of economics from this period. Access to the theories, practices, and consequences of economic and business activity in the West, from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century. It combines the strengths of two pre-eminent collections - the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London Library and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at the Harvard Business School along with supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection in the Butler Library at Columbia University and from the libraries of Yale University.
Primary sources of all types can also be found in our regular, circulating books, in special collections, and beyond. Here are few ways to find primary texts and sources by using our own Library Search.
1. Use the author search to find books we have by a particular author, politician, journalist or another type of historical witness
2. Do an advanced keyword search in The Library Search and then limit by publication year under “limit your search”) (note: you can also limit by language and many other ways)