Research Guides: U.S. History: Scholarship

Secondary Resources for US History

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Useful for anthropological and historical research concerning the United States and Canada from pre-history to the present.
Content type: Scholarly articles, magazine articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, books
Coverage dates: 1914-present
Language: English, French, Russian, German, Spanish, etc.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Why search here? The main index for scholarship in early modern to present day World History, excluding United States and Canadian history.
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles, magazine articles, dissertations and theses, books
Coverage dates: 1953-present
Language: English, French, German, Spanish, etc.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Good starting point when researching topics that intersect with multiple disciplines.
Content type: Scholarly articles, newspaper articles, magazine articles, trade journal articles
Coverage dates: 1887-present; varies by title
Language: English, Spanish, Russian, Portuguese, Turkish, French, Chinese, Arabic etc.
Keywords: ASP
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Search for scholarly and popular sources about gender and women's studies topics.
Content type: Scholarly articles, reviews, magazine articles, newspaper articles, dissertations
Coverage dates: 1750-present
Language: English, French, German, Spanish, etc.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Why search here? The main database of critical scholarship on all modern literatures and languages, also covering linguistics, folklore, film and media studies.
Content type: Scholarly articles, books, dissertations
Coverage dates: 1963-present
Language: English, French, German, Spanish, Italian, Russian, etc.
Keywords: Modern Language Association