Skip to main content

Criminal Justice

Databases For finding Scholarly Articles

Use the following electronic and print indexes to find articles and other materials on specific topics in criminology and criminal justice in scholarly journals. A scholarly journal is a journal whose main purpose is to inform and to report on original research or experimentation. Scholarly journals are usually published by a scholarly professional association or a university and contain articles that are lengthy and extensively documented, with all references provided in footnotes or endnotes.

Sociological Abstracts: Covers the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Contains citations and abstracts from over 2000 journals, plus relevant dissertation listings, abstracts of conference papers and selected books, and citations of book reviews. 1963 to present.

Academic Search Premier: A scholarly, multi-disciplinary database containing full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications, and indexing for over 8,000 journals. Backfiles available from 1975-

Omnifile: A multi-disciplinary database that provides access to indexing, abstracts, and available full text in a range of subject areas. Covers both scholarly journals and popular magazines. Searches across all subjects, or can be limited to a specific subject area. Coverage begins in 1982, full-text coverage in 1994.

PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)
Index to articles, books and documents in public affairs and public policy including social conditions. 1972 to present.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database
Contains summaries of more than 140,000 criminal justice publications, including Federal, State and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles and unpublished research.

Search Tips

Use advanced search options so that you have multiple search boxes and limiting options (e.g. peer-reviewed only) readily available to you when you begin your search
Click on the title links in results list to view the full record of an item so that you may view the abstract (summary), citation information, and subject headings (or descriptors) assigned to a particular article, case study, etc.
Use subject headings (the database’s controlled vocabulary pre-determined by database indexers) in addition to your keywords (terms created on the spot by you that describe your topic). Subject headings can be found in the full record of an item or through the database’s thesaurus or subject guide
To find the full text of an article, look for a “full text” link in the article record, or click on the green "Get this Item" button.  This will link you to the Libraries Article Linker page.  If the Libraries have full text access to the journal there will be a link to the full text.  If the Libraries do not have full text access there will be a link to Interlibrary Loan so you may request this article from another library.
Use help tools to learn more effective search techniques for the particular database you are searching.

Ask Us by clicking on the chat link, ask at the Services Desk, or make an appointment, we are happy to help.