Skip to Main Content
The Library is now open for students, staff, and faculty of The Claremont Colleges. See COVID-19 Services and Updates for more information.

Criminal Justice

Finding Statistical Information

Following is a selected list of sources of criminal justice statistics and statistics relevant to criminal justice.

Annual Uniform Crime Reports: Information from cities, counties and states on crime.
https://ucr.fbi.gov) CEased/Replaced by FBI's Crime Data Explorer (CDE)

FBI's Crime Data Explorer (CDE)

Bureau of Justice Statistics: Statistics about crimes, victims, law enforcement, courts, sentencing, and corrections.
(http://www.ojp.usdoj.gov/bjs/)

National Archive of Criminal Justice Data: Crime and justice data from The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research at the University of Michigan.
(http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/NACJD/archive.html)

Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics: This resource contains statistics gathered from sources nationwide. Includes information on the criminal justice system, public opinion, crimes, characteristics of persons arrested, judicial processing of defendants, and information on prison and jail populations.
(http://www.albany.edu/sourcebook) or Hon Ref Desk J 29.9/6:996

Statistical Abstract of the United States: Annually published source including statistics on population, health, education, government finance, social welfare, income, employment, commerce, and criminal justice in the United States. Available from 1879 to 2012.
(https://www.census.gov/library/publications/time-series/statistical_abstracts.html) or Hon Ref Desk HA 202 C4 Un3 | Hon Gov US C3.134 |

ProQuest statistical abstract of the United States, 2013-  Continues Statistical Abstract of the United States.  Hon Ref Fol HA202.C4 Un3  

Data Planet Statistical Datasets  Aggregates over 590 licensed and public domain datasets provided by over 50 sources and makes that data available from within a single interface. Requires Java-enabled browser.

State of California Crime Data  
This site contains more than 5,000 statistical tables, 59 reports, 29 publications, links to federal, state, and local agency statistics, and links to other criminal statistics services.
 

FBI's Crime Data Explorer (CDE)

This search tool is replacing the Uniform Crime Reports for the FBI data.

 

Criminal Justice Web Resources

Below are a few of the many websites which focus on Criminal Justice. Most will lead you to other related sites.

Justice Information Center: A service of the National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Provides access to full text government documents and information about many aspects of criminal justice.
http://www.ncjrs.gov/

Restorative Justice Online  Site covering many aspects of Restorative Justice from research to setting up programs.  Includes a searchable database of articles.  http://www.restorativejustice.org/