How can I contact a librarian to get help with my research?
- Email your subject librarian directly
- Use the email form on the Ask Us page
- Chat with a trained student employee, Monday-Thursday 1-5 PST and Friday 1-3 PST using the chat widget on the Ask Us page
What types of materials are available to me electronically when I am off campus?
The Library offers numerous types of materials electronically. All of our databases are available off-campus. There are scholarly articles, eBooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical information, newspapers, data, statistics and more.
How can I do research in databases (containing journal & newspaper articles)?
For research in scholarly or popular journals or newspapers use the Library’s databases or the subject research guides. Electronic resources are available remotely to all current students, faculty, and staff. See the "Logging in to Databases" box on top of this page for more information.
Can I use Interlibrary Loan while I am studying off-campus?
You can use Resource Sharing for requesting articles or book chapters that we do not own at the Library. When processed by our Resource Sharing unit, these items will be sent to you electronically, as email attachments, just as if you were on campus. You may not, however, request books through Resource Sharing when you are away from the campus, as these must be picked up and returned in person to Honnold/Mudd Library.
Can I use electronic books (ebooks) while I am away?
The Library has access to many ebooks, all of which are available to you when you are away from the campus. Links to ebooks show up in Library Search, the online catalog, as you search for authors, titles, keywords, etc.
Will I have access to digital images when I am away from campus?
Yes, you will have access to the Claremont Colleges Digital Library. The Claremont Colleges Digital Library collections cover a broad range of subject areas and disciplines including psychology, college history, art, business management, and mathematics. A complete list of databases containing images.
I am doing research using local resources while I am studying off-campus. Is there anything I need to be aware of?
Great! You will have a once in a lifetime opportunity to do primary research while you are studying off-campus. The thing to remember is that when you get home you very likely will not have access to these same materials, so you need to copy any materials you might need and document the materials that you do use so you can cite them in your research. Often students come back to Claremont thinking they will have the same access to these materials they did in the local library in the small town they visited. Sometimes you might, but more often, even in the internet age, these materials are not available to you online. So do your research, interview local experts, and copy, cite and document!
What if I have problems accessing materials? Is there someone I can contact?
Whenever you have problems using resources from the Library’s web site (logging in, accessing a database, etc.), contact the library staff at the Ask Us page. We will verify that your account is correctly entered in the Library’s records and that your account number is correct. We may have to contact your college to verify this information.