Research Guides: American Religions: Find Secondary Resources

Find Articles

ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Primary database used to find books and articles on American religion.
Language: English, German, French, Spanish, Italian, Korean, etc.
Keywords: American Theological Library Association Collection
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This database indexes articles about American religions as well as articles in many other subject areas. Coverage from the 1880s to the present.
Language: English, Spanish, Russian, Portuguese, Turkish, French, Chinese, Arabic etc.
Keywords: ASP
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Good place to look for articles about American religions in the context of American culture and history. Coverage from 1964 to the present.
Language: English, French, Russian, German, Spanish, etc.

Complete List of Claremont Colleges Library Databases
Provides alphabetical title and subject access to over 250 full-text, index, and primary source databases.

Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Includes statistics on American religious organizations including membership, attendance by denomination and financial support.
Tables downloadable in Excel files. Users can also create custom tables, which can be downloaded, printed, or graphed.
Language: English

ARDA: Association of Religion Data Archives
Useful in providing statistical information about American religions.
Encyclopedia of Mormonism
This electronic version provides updates to the 7-volume Encyclopedia of Mormonism which covers information on the history, scripture, doctrine, and procedure of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
Pluralism Project at Harvard
Database reports on changing religious landscape of America,
Virtual Religion Index: American Studies
Provides links to web content relating to religions of Native Americans and North Americans.