Research Guides: Islam: Find Secondary Sources

Find Articles

Index Islamicus This link opens in a new window
Major scholarly index for Islamic studies featuring citations for books, articles, and reviews related to Islam and Middle Eastern Studies.
Language: English, French, Spanish, German, Russian, Italian, Dutch, Portuguese, etc.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Broad coverage of religion-related books and articles including Islam.
Language: English, German, French, Spanish, Italian, Korean, etc.
Keywords: American Theological Library Association Collection
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Good for exploring multi-disciplinary topics in relation to Islam.
Language: English, Spanish, Russian, Portuguese, Turkish, French, Chinese, Arabic etc.
Keywords: ASP
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to scholarly journals across the disciplines including Islamic studies. NOTE that is some cases the most current five years of coverage may not be included for particular titles. You may need to use other databases such as ATLA for recent materials.
Many journals include only backfiles and do not include current content. Use other databases to find the most recent issues of these journals.
Language: English, French, German, Spanish

Complete List of Claremont Colleges Library Databases
The list facilitates access to multi-disciplinary content by being arranged by the title and subject of the database.

Encyclopedia of Islam and the Modern World
Looks at Islam's role in the modern world in the context of the religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Women
Covers major topics within the study of Islam and women. More than 450 articles written by leading international experts and with a concentration on contemporary issues,

Encyclopaedia of Islam This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Search for background information and bibliographies about Islam and Islamic Studies ranging from topics in history, politics, religion, and culture.
Content type: Reference materials
Coverage dates: 1913-present
This database includes second and third editions of the encyclopedia. It is continuously updated.
Language: English
Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an This link opens in a new window
Good English-language source for basic information about the Qu'ran.
Language: English

Haleem, M. A. Abdel. Understanding the Qur'an: Themes and Style.
Examines the background to the development of the surahs (chapters) and the ayahs (verses) and the construction of the Qur'an itself.