Research Guides: Buddhism & Hinduism: Find Secondary Sources

Find Background Information

Encyclopedia of Buddhism
This encyclopedia describes the Buddhist world view, basic teachings and practices of Buddhism, as well as its different schools and sects. In addition to containing entries on Buddhist scriptures, art, architecture, divinities, monastic orders, festivals, rites and ceremonies, this 2-vol. set explores the history of Buddhism, the different forms it has taken in different parts of the world, and how Buddhism has blended with other religions.
Virtual Religion Index: Buddhist Studies
Collection of websites devoted to all aspects of Buddhist studies.

Encyclopedia of Hinduism This link opens in a new window
Covers all the main aspects of the Hindu traditions.
This encyclopedia is searchable and updated continuously.
Language: English

Virtual Religion Index: Hindu Studies
Collection of websites devoted to all aspects of Hindu studies.

The Bloomsbury Companion to Hindu Studies by Jessica Frazier (Editor)
ISBN: 9781472567178
Publication Date: 2014-01-16
The Bloomsbury Companion to Hindu Studies covers all the most pressing and important themes and categories in the field - areas that have continued to attract interest historically as well as topics that have emerged more recently as active areas of research. Specially commissioned essays from an international team of experts reveal where important work continues to be done in the field and, valuably, how the various topics intersect through detailed reading paths. Featuring a series of indispensable research tools, including a detailed list of resources, chronology and diagrams summarizing content, this is the essential tool for anyone working in Hindu Studies.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Wide-coverage makes this a good database to use in beginning research in Buddhism and Hinduism.
Language: English, Spanish, Russian, Portuguese, Turkish, French, Chinese, Arabic etc.
Keywords: ASP
ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Major database for finding scholarly articles on all aspects of religion including Buddhism and Hinduism.
Language: English, German, French, Spanish, Italian, Korean, etc.
Keywords: American Theological Library Association Collection
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Offers citations for western-languages books, articles, and conference proceedings relating to Asian culture including religion.
Language: English, German, French, Spanish
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Search here for annotated bibliographies combined with encyclopedia articles to get started finding key sources across a wide range of humanities and social sciences topics.
Content type: Annotated bibliographies, encyclopedia articles
Language: English

Complete List of Claremont Colleges Library Databases
Useful to consult for other databases that relate to interdisciplinary aspects of Buddhism and Hinduism.