Library open only to current Claremont Colleges students, faculty, and staff: Tuesday, December 6 - Thursday, December 15. Exceptions include those visiting Bookstore, Cafe, and Special Collections Appointments. More info on Blackout Dates for Community Access.
Below is a selected list of our primary source databases. For more primary source databases the Claremont Colleges Library subscribes to, go to this list of databases.
Special Collections is a treasure trove of primary sources covering a wide range of formats and time periods. Visit the Special Collections homepage to search and discover materials. Contact Special Collections for additional guidance.
University of California freely available digitized archive of California History. Includes all types of primary source materials including images. This is an example of a collection that is part of the Online Archive of California.
The Freedom Archives contains over 10,000 hours of audio and video tapes which date from the late-1960s to the mid-90s and chronicle the progressive history of the Bay Area, the United States, and international movements.
"American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience."
The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.
Provides a collection of 200 titles dating from 1985 to the present dedicated to the history and culture of Latinos. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures.
Some of the world's top news sources. Includes titles such as, The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
News stories, broadcasts and transcripts from the world's largest newspapers and news sources. Full text law journal articles, legal codes, judge's decisions, SEC filings, and additional financial information on companies.
Locating Other Primary Sources for Chicana/o-Latina/o Studies
A collection of 45 local Latino/a oral histories. The interviews feature people originally from Mexico, Guatemala, Brazil, California and yes, even Utah, who talk about family traditions, religion, jobs and interests, as well as challenges associated with relocation, cultural identity and cultural differences.
