Bibliographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks can provide you with relevant background information for topics in Asian American Studies. Use Library Search to begin your searching. If you need further assistance, please feel free to contact a librarian to set up an appointment.
Selected sources for Background Information:
Asian American Society: An Encyclopedia by
An introduction to the wide-ranging and fast-developing field of Asian American studies. More than 300 articles authored by experts in the field, organized in A-to-Z format. A core collection of primary documents and key demographic and social science data. A Reader's Guide groups related entries by broad topic areas and themes; a Glossary defines key terms; and a Resource Guide provides lists of books, academic journals, websites and cross references.
A Companion to Asian American Studies by
Conceptualization of Asian American studies as a field, covering psychology, history, literature, feminism, sexuality, identity politics, cyberspace, pop culture, queerness, hybridity, and diasporic consciousness.
Keywords for American Cultural Studies, Second Edition by
key terms and debates in the fields of American studies and cultural studies; collects more than 90 essays, each on a single term such as "America," "culture," "law," and "religion." Alongside "community," "prison," "queer," "region," and many others. Covering literary studies and political economy, cultural anthropology and ethnic studies, African American history and performance studies, gender studies and political theory.
Oxford Encyclopedia of Asian American Literature and Culture by
More than one hundred original and in-depth articles survey the historical foundations of this rich field, showing the exciting and profound new directions that currently drive the study of Asian American literary and cultural traditions. Include literary works from the late-19th century to the 21st century.
The Cambridge Companion to Asian American Literature by
A survey of Asian American literature from the nineteenth century to the present day. Explores the variety of historical periods, literary genres and cultural movements affecting the development of Asian American literature. Provides insight into the representative movements, regional settings, archival resources and critical reception that define Asian American literature. Covering subjects from immigrant narratives and internment literature to contemporary race studies and the problem of translation.
The Routledge Companion to Asian American and Pacific Islander Literature by 
The Routledge Companion to Asian American Media by
Focus on new approaches to the study of Asian American media. Exploring transnational and diasporic media, intersectional identities encompassed by queer or mixed race Asian Americans, new media practices that challenge notions of representation, participation, and community.
Encyclopedia of Asian American Folklore and Folklife by
Documents the origins, transmissions, and transformations of Asian American folklore and folklife, covering a wide range of Asian American cultural and ethnic groups, as well as mixed-race and mixed-heritage Asian Americans.* More than 600 entries * Contributions from more than 170 expert contributors * Introductory essays covering disciplinary theories and methods in the study of folklore and folklife * An appendix of Asian American folktales.
Multicultural America by Below are just a few selected databases for topics in Asian American Studies. Use the Get This Item button to link to full text or to request a PDF through Resource Sharing/ILL.
| Use Basic Search to | Use Advanced Search to |
|---|---|
|
look up books/materials by:
(This works best if you have a citation and want to see if the Libraries own it. |
look up material by:
|
