Skip to main content
Important Coronavirus (COVID-19) Update: Library building CLOSED until further notice.
See COVID-19 (novel coronavirus) Updates and Resources

Information Systems & Technology

Find Your Textbook

Find your textbook and other course materials by searching in the Course Readings list using your professor's last name or course name.

If you do not see your textbook listed, then your professor may not have asked the Library to place the item on course reserves. Please reach out to your Subject Librarian, Kimberly Jackson to get more help with finding the item you need. 

IS&T Call Numbers

To search for eBooks, articles, media and more - use Library Search - the search field on the library homepage.

The Claremont Colleges Library use the Library of Congress Classification System to organize physical books in the library. Our science section can be found on the first (1st) floor of the Honnold side of the building.

Q & T Subclasses for Information Systems & Technology

  • Instruments & Machines: QA 71-90
  • Electronic Computers, Computer Science: QA 75.5- 76.95
  • Computer Software: QA 76.75-76.765
  • Managerial Control Systems: T58.4
  • Information Technology: T58.5-58.64
  • Management Information Systems: T58.6-58.62
  • Standardization: T59-59.2
  • Automation: T59.5
  • Human Engineering in Industry, Man-Machine Systems: T59.7-59.77

Learn to Search Like a Scholar

Are you struggling with searching and want to learn more effective strategies? Take an easy 10-minute Library tutorial to learn how to search like a scholar! Reduce your stress when searching and quickly learn techniques that will equip you for life.

After completing the tutorial, you'll know:

  • Why search strategies are necessary
  • Foundational search strategies
  • How to break your topic down into keywords for effective searches
  • How to apply the operators AND, OR, NOT, asterisk, and quotation marks, in your searches to produce more relevant results
  • How to revise your search based on the results

START THE TUTORIAL NOW!

Types of Sources

In the sciences, a primary source describes original research, while a secondary source analyzes or comments on a primary source or sources.  For example, a research article is primary literature because it describes an original experiment and its results, while a review article is secondary literature because it collates multiple research articles to describe the current state of the field. A tertiary source is an index or consolidation of primary and secondary sources.

Examples of primary sources: 

  • Research articles
  • Theses and dissertations
  • Conference proceedings
  • Reports
  • Patents 
  • Unrefined data sets 

Examples of secondary sources:

  • Review articles
  • Data compilations
  • Most books

Examples of tertiary sources:

  • Encyclopedias
  • Dictionaries
  • Field and identification guides

How to Evaluate Your Sources

undefined

Resource Sharing

If you are in Library Search and come across an item that you need, but it says, held in other Libraries. Don't give up! You can still use the Get This Item button to get a copy via Resource Sharing

The Library will do its best to gain access to the materials you need. However, at this time, Resource Sharing can only provide electronic borrowing access to articles and book chapters. Please note that we are not able to borrow eBooks from sharing institutions. However, if the publisher makes the item available in electronic format and they are also available for purchase, we may be able to acquire them for our collections.

COVID Update

Due to the restrictions of the pandemic, many of our sharing institutions are not lending print materials so we are unable to borrow print materials from sharing institutions at this time. However, you can still borrow print materials that we currently hold in The Claremont Colleges Library collections by using the Get This Item button and requesting the print item for pick-up. 

Watch this brief video to learn more.

Academic Databaes

The databases below can help you find primary and secondary literature in the sciences. While searching, you can narrow your results to primary literature, eBooks and more.

View the Information Systems & Technology list for on-going updates to our subscriptions.

 


Use Browzine to browse through other eJournals available by subject/topic.

 

eBooks & Reference Materials

Find more eBooks in our collections by using Library Search (search field on Library homepage). Be sure to apply The Claremont Colleges Library filter and filter again by eBook format. 

If you don't find your item in our collections, you may also fill out an online form to Suggest We Purchase an eBook or contact your Subject Librarian.

Please note that you may not use Resource Sharing for eBooks. Resource Sharing only applies to print items and electronic articles. 


eBook Collections

Find all eBook Collections by going to the Library Homepage > Databases > Databases by Format > eBooks or Reference Sources.

 

News & Newspaper Resources

Browse all of our Newspaper Resources by going to the Library homepage > Databases > Databases by Format > Newspapers & News Sources.


 

Film & Video

STEM Librarian

Kimberly Jackson's picture
Kimberly Jackson

Contact:
Claremont Colleges Library