Research Guides: Gender/ Feminist/ Sexuality/ Women's/ Queer Studies: Find Primary Sources

LGBTQ Primary Sources

Databases

Archives of Sexuality and Gender This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Search for primary sources about LGBTQ life around the world from political, social, and governmental organizations.
Content type: Primary Sources, books, images, documents, pamphlets, magazines, government records, letters
Coverage dates: 1500s- 1900s
The Library has access to the following sections of this resource: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I; LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part II; International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture; L'Enfer de la Bibliothèque nationale de France; and Community and Identity in North America.
Language: English
LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Search for LGBT magazines and popular sources from the United States and United Kingdom on topics such as activism, arts, culture, health, literature, politics, and social life.
Content type: Magazines, news articles, newsletters, print interviews
Coverage dates: 1954-2015
All publications are both browsable and searchable. The library provides access to the LGBT Magazine Archive Collections 1-2.
Language: English
LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Search for primary sources on LGBT topics that illuminate the political and social lives of lesbian, gay, transgender, and bisexual individuals.
Content type: Primary sources, magazine articles, correspondence, government documents, ephemera, flyers, pamphlets
Coverage dates: 1900-2012
Language: English

3 archival collections available on microfilm

These can be borrowed from the Center for Research Libraries (CRL) by using Resource Sharing.

Atlanta Lesbian Feminist Alliance archives, ca. 1972-1994
Lesbian & gay periodicals as well as ALFA archival materials.
Sex & sexuality, 1640-1940. Part 5, Gay literature from Anacreon to John Addington Symonds from the British Library, London
Sex and sexuality 1640-1940 [microform] : literary, medical and sociological perspectives. Part 4, Erotica, 1890-1908, from the Private Case Collection at the British Library, London

Local LGBTQ Archives

Finding Aids for ONE Archive Collections (@USC)
http://www.onearchives.org/ is the largest LGBT archive in the US
June L Mazer Lesbian Archives at UCLA
Tom of Finland Foundation (Echo Park)

General Historical Collections Pertaining to Women

Defining Gender This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Explore primary sources describing traditional models and contemporary perceptions of gender in British society from the fifteenth to the early twentieth century.
Content type: Primary sources, correspondence, diaries, advice literature, periodicals, government documents
Coverage dates: 1450-1910
Language: English
Keywords: AM Explorer
Everyday Life & Women in America, c.1800–1920 This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Discover primary sources, including broadsides, pamphlets, rare books, and periodicals, about women in the United States, covering a wide variety of topics from politics to medicine to fashion.
Content type: Primary sources
Coverage dates: 1800-1920
Language: English
Keywords: AM Explorer
Gerritsen Women's History Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs‎ This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Explore this large women's history collection to trace the evolution of feminism and women's rights in various countries over the span of five centuries.
Content type: Primary sources, books, pamphlets, periodicals, correspondence
Coverage dates: 1543-1945
Publications originate from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand.
Language: English, French, German, Spanish, Dutch, etc.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Explore a treasure trove of primary sources that provide insights on women's history, focusing on women in social movements in the U.S.
Content type: Primary sources, pamphlets, correspondence, interviews
Coverage dates: 1600-2000
Themes include human rights, social reform and activism, work and class identity, peace, Women of Color and Indigenous Women, immigration, education, religion, and more
Language: English, Spanish
Women in the National Archives This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Discover primary source documents about women's suffrage in the British Empire in the 20th century.
Content type: Primary sources, reports, pamphlets, images, photographs, newspaper extracts, speeches
Coverage dates: 1903-1962
Language: English
Keywords: Archives Direct AM Explorer

Women's Correspondence and Diaries

North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Letters and diaries written by women living in North America, along with biographies of people that wrote the documents.
Content type: Primary sources, correspondence, diaries
Coverage dates: 1700s-1950
While titled "North American," the documents mostly come from the United States.
Language: English
Past Masters Full Text Humanities: Women Writers This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Access the works, correspondence, and diaries of a selection of major (pre-1900) British authors.
Content type: Books, correspondence, diaries
Coverage dates: Pre-1900
Language: English

Women's Magazines

Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Explore major women's magazines, including Cosmopolitan, Better Homes & Gardens, Essence, and Seventeen.
Content type: Magazine articles
Coverage dates: 1922-2005
Full digitization of the magazine, meaning all articles, illustrations, and advertisements are included. Full text of: Better Homes & Gardens (1922 to 2005), Chatelaine (1928 to 2005), Cosmopolitan (1926-2004), Essence (1970-2005), Good Housekeeping (1885 to 2005), Ladies' Home Journal (1885 to 2005), Parents (1926 to 2005), Redbook (1903 to 2005), Seventeen (1944-2005), WIN News (1975-2003), and Women's Day (1937-2001).
Language: English
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Explore this major American fashion magazine, which also covers popular culture.
Content type: Magazine articles
Coverage dates: 1892-present
Only includes American Vogue. Full digitization of the magazine, meaning all articles, illustrations, and advertisements are included.
Language: English

Women's Published Writings

Women Writers Online This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Rare writings by women in English, including speeches, treatises, and creative works.
Content type: Primary sources, literary works, legal documents
Coverage dates: 1526-1850
Click on "Enter WWO" to actually search.
Language: English
Keywords: Women Writers Project
Past Masters Full Text Humanities: Women Writers This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Access the works, correspondence, and diaries of a selection of major (pre-1900) British authors.
Content type: Books, correspondence, diaries
Coverage dates: Pre-1900
Language: English