Research Guides: CM FHS 010 / American Wilderness / FA25: Find Primary Sources at the Library and Beyond

Find Primary Sources at the Library

Primary sources of all types can also be found in our regular, circulating books, in special collections, and beyond. Here are few ways to find primary texts and sources using Library Search.

1. Use the author search to find books we have by a particular author, politician, journalist or another type of historical witness.

2. Do an advanced keyword search and then limit by publication year under “limit your search” (note: you can also limit by language and many other ways).

3. . Do an advanced keyword and then limit by years and then limit to the word "sources" in the subject field (by using the dropdown menu), for example:

"nature OR wilderness in the keyword or title fields

history

"sources" in the subject field

This brings us the Library of Congress Subject subheading “sources” which is sometimes used to designate primary source collections of different kinds — as in Environmentalism—United States—History—Sources

Find Digital Primary Sources

These are selected primary source databases that might help with your research. Visit the US History guide to see a much larger range of primary sources online.

American Periodicals

Why search here? Discover articles from a broad selection of historical, U.S.-based periodicals that are not always covered elsewhere, including professional journals and both children's and women's magazines.
Content type: Magazine articles, trade journal articles, scholarly articles, newspaper articles
Coverage dates: 1740-1940

Articles come from labor, trade, literary, scientific, and photographic periodicals.
Language: English
Keywords: American Periodicals Series APS Online
Early American Imprints, Series I-II

Why search here? To explore all aspects of life in the American Colonies and the early U.S. Republic, through books, pamphlets, broadsides and other scarce printed materials published in the American Colonies and early U.S. republic.
Content type: Primary sources, books, pamphlets, broadsides
Coverage dates: 1639-1819

Includes both full text and digital images of materials published in America from 1639-1800 (Series I: Evans) and 1801-1819 (Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker). Both series cover subjects ranging from history, literature and culture to politics, government and society.
Language: English
Keywords: Readex
African American Experience: The American Mosaic

Why search here? Discover primary sources and background information related to African and African-American history and culture, ranging from ancient civilizations to the Black Lives Matter movement.
Content type: Primary sources, correspondence, speeches, court documents, images, reference materials, biographies, statistics
Coverage dates: 1800s-present

Also includes some audio and video contents, as well as full access to the WPA Slave Narrative Collection by the Federal Writer's Project, which documents narratives from formerly enslaved individuals of 17 states.
Language: English
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America

Why search here? Explore primary sources pertaining to Native American history, from accounts of early European settlers to Native American political activism.
Content type: Manuscripts, correspondence, newspapers, maps, photographs, drawings and paintings.
Coverage dates: 1500s - 1970s

Covers themes such as Native American and U.S. Government relations, military encounters, Indigenous peoples of Mexico, First Nations of Canada, and more, including topics such as early American and European colonialism, European and inter-Tribal alliances, U.S. boarding schools for Native Americans, and political activism.
Language: English
Keywords: Edward E. Ayer Collection Newberry Library AM Explorer
North American Women's Letters and Diaries

Why search here? Letters and diaries written by women living in North America, along with biographies of people that wrote the documents.
Content type: Primary sources, correspondence, diaries
Coverage dates: 1700s-1950

While titled "North American," the documents mostly come from the United States.
Language: English