Research Guides: PO GWS173 / Premodern Intersectionality / Osgood / Fall 2025: Secondary Sources (in case you need or want)

Books

Race in Early Modern England by Jonathan Burton (Editor); Ania Loomba (Editor)
Call Number: Ebook

ISBN: 1403961662

Publication Date: 2007-09-25

This collection makes available for the first time a rich archive of materials that illuminate the history of racial thought and practices in sixteenth and seventeenth century England. A comprehensive introduction shows how these writings are crucial for understanding the pre-Enlightenment lineages of racial categories.

Secondary Sources

Academic Search Premier

Why search here? Good starting point when researching topics that intersect with multiple disciplines.
Content type: Scholarly articles, newspaper articles, magazine articles, trade journal articles
Coverage dates: 1887-present; varies by title

Language: English, Spanish, Russian, Portuguese, Turkish, French, Chinese, Arabic etc.
Keywords: ASP
L'Annee Philologique

Why search here? The main international source for finding abstracts of scholarly articles and books about Greek and Roman literature, philosophy and history.
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles and books
Coverage dates: 1928-present

International coverage
Language: English, French
Keywords: Greco-Roman world Annee Lannee Aph
International Medieval Bibliography

Why search here? Search here for scholarly resources about the Medieval Period (300-1500), from a variety of displines.
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles, essay collections, and conference proceedings
Special Note: Limited to 3 simultaneous users

Disciplinary areas include: Classics, English Language and Literature, History and Archaeology, Theology and Philosophy, Medieval European Languages and Literatures, Arabic and Islamic Studies, Art History, Music, and Performance Arts
Language: English, French, German, Italian, Spanish, Portuguese, etc
Historical Abstracts

Why search here? The main index for scholarship in early modern to present day World History, excluding United States and Canadian history.
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles, magazine articles, dissertations and theses, books
Coverage dates: 1953-present

Language: English, French, German, Spanish, etc.