Research Guides: SCR SPAN 33 / Intermediate Spanish / G. Bacsán / FA24: Proyecto uno: Las vidas y las culturas de las personas en Latinoamérica

Proyecto uno

Cada grupo se enfocará en aprender más sobre la vida y las culturas en un país específico; esto incluye, pero no está limitado a: las costumbres, las tradiciones, las comidas, los bailes, la música, la historia, los lugares de interés, y las ciudades capitales del país.

Find background information

Explore the recommended reference sources below to gather preliminary information about your country.

Search for reference sources specific to your country.

Add "dictionaries" or "encyclopedias" to your search in Library Search. The Historical Dictionaries of the Americas series publishes dictionaries specific to each Latin American country.
- kw:Costa Rica AND su:dictionaries

Search for sources that specifically address your topic of interest.

Add "encyclopedias" to your search in Library Search.
- kw:religion AND kw:Latin America AND su:encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by Jay Kinsbruner (Editor); Erick Detlef Langer
ISBN: 9780684315904
Publication Date: 2008
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures by Daniel Balderston; Mike Gonzalez; Ana M. Lopez
Call Number: F1406 .E515 2000 - Mudd Multi-Tier Stacks 3 - Reference
ISBN: 9780415229739
Publication Date: 2000
This three-volume encyclopedia features over 4,000 entries on more than 40 regions in Latin America and the Caribbean from 1920 to the present day.
Diccionario de la música española e hispanoamericana by Emilio CasaresJosé López-CaloIsmael Fernández de la CuestaMaría Luz González Peña
Call Number: ML101.S7 D53 1999 - Mudd 3rd Floor - Library Use Only
ISBN: 9788480483032
Publication Date: 1999-2000
10 volumes covering music of Latin America and Spain. Includes illustrations and biographical references.
Pop Culture in Latin America and the Caribbean by Elizabeth Gackstetter Nichols; Timothy R. Robbins
ISBN: 9781610697545
Publication Date: 2015-07-28
A ready-reference guide to pop culture in Central America, South America, and the Caribbean, focusing on Mexico, Brazil, Venezuela, Argentina, Haiti, Cuba, the Dominican Republic, Jamaica, and Costa Rica, among other areas. Entries cover key trends, people, events, and products from the beginning of the 20th century to the present day. Each section gives detailed information and profound insights into some of the more academic--and often controversial--debates on the subject, while the inclusion of the Internet, social media, and video games make the book timely and relevant.

Websites

Caribbean, Iberian, and Latin American Research Guides, Library of Congress
Research guides focused on those parts of the world encompassing the geographical areas of the Caribbean, Latin America, Spain, and Portugal; the indigenous cultures of those areas; and peoples throughout the world historically influenced by Luso-Hispanic heritage, including Latinx communities in the U.S., and peoples of Portuguese or Spanish heritage in Africa, Asia, and Oceania.
LANIC: Latin American Network Information Center
A guide to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America. The directories contain over 10,000 unique URLs, one of the largest guides for Latin American content on the Internet. Includes country-specific guides with many resources..

Find maps, videos, and images

David Rumsey Map Collection This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Explore this collection of maps, including atlases, globes, pocket maps, maritime charts, and sketches, depicting locations from around the world since the 16th century.
Content type: Maps, images
Coverage dates: 1550-present
Language: English, French, German, Spanish, Italian, Dutch, etc.

Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection
Many Historical Maps

Recommended databases

Use the following databases to find scholarly articles for your research.

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Find scholarly articles about Latin America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics/Latinos in the U.S.
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles
Coverage dates: 1960s-present
Language: English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, German, Italian, Indigenous languages, Creole, etc.
Handbook of Latin American Studies This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Main database for identifying research literature on historical and emerging issues pertinent to the study of Latin America.
Content type: Annotated citations for books, scholarly articles, book chapters, conference papers, maps and atlases, and e-resources
Coverage dates: 1936-present
Language: English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, etc.
El portal CLACSO-REDALYC This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Explore open access articles from journals in the social sciences and humanities from across Latin America.
Content type: Scholarly articles
Language: Spanish, Portuguese, English, French, etc.