This is the "Home" page of the "Trial Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Trial Databases   Tags: database, new, resource, trial  

These electronic resources have been made available to the Claremont Colleges on a temporary basis (varying from 1 month to 1 year). These trials allow the Library to assess their importance to our Students, Faculty and Staff.
Last Updated: Oct 30, 2014 URL: http://libguides.libraries.claremont.edu/trials Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Trial Databases

  • Trial Database Evaluation Form - please give us your feedback
    If you find one of these resources to be useful for your teaching or research, please let us know (be specific!) and tell a friend or colleague.
  • 19th Century UK Periodicals Series 1: New Readerships, 10/30/2014 - 11/29/2014  Icon
    This collection of nineteenth-century periodical literature covers the period 1800 to 1900. When complete it will make available full runs of nearly 600 titles, some of which exist only in a single copy, such is the fragile state of much nineteenth-century printed material. The availability, on the scholar’s desktop, of six million pages of nineteenth-century journalism, fully searchable, sourced from the British Library, the National Library of Scotland and other specialist libraries, offers a collection of unparalleled range and diversity. The collection should be of interest to historians and students of nineteenth-century literature and culture, empire, feminism, the history of the book, the creative and performing arts, sport and leisure, science and medicine, the professions, in short, of all aspects of nineteenth-century life that the press encompassed.
  • African American Newspapers, 1827-1998, 10/24/2014 - 11/30/2014  Icon
    African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 enables users to search more than 270 African American newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Created in partnership with the Wisconsin Historical Society, the Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress, African American Newspapers chronicles a century and a half of the African American experience.
  • Digital Loeb Classical Library, October 28, 2014 - December 28, 2014  Icon
    The mission of the Loeb Classical Library, founded by James Loeb in 1911, has always been to make Greek and Latin literature accessible to the broadest range of readers. The digital Loeb Classical Library extends this mission into the twenty-first century. Harvard University Press is honored to renew James Loeb's vision of accessibility and presents an interconnected, fully searchable, perpetually growing, virtual library of all that is important in Greek and Latin literature. Epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture — in short, our entire Greek and Latin Classical heritage is represented here with up-to-date texts and accurate English translations. More than 520 volumes of Latin, Greek, and English texts are available in a modern and elegant interface, allowing readers to browse, search, bookmark, annotate, and share content with eas
  • English Historical Documents Online, October 24, 2014 - November 22, 2014  
      
      Icon
    Username: Claremont
    Password: McKenna
    Key features include: Instant access to over 5,000 historical documents. Highly discoverable content through Quick, Advanced and Faceted search. Search refinement through adding and removing search filters directly on the results page. Explore content by Date, Historiography and Historical methods, Population and environment, Society, Economic affairs and technology, Intellectual, cultural and the arts, Religious belief, practice and organization, Politics, administration and law, Military, Foreign affairs, Status entries and Source types. Personalized login for individual users: bookmark entries, and save and manage searches. Download, print, share and citation tools, Institutional access via Shibboleth and account management functionality and COUNTER compliant analytics and usage statistics.
  • JSTOR SCELC Trial, October 15-December 31, 2014  Icon
    All JSTOR collections are available.
    The trial list:
    Arts & Sciences XII
    Arts & Sciences XIII
    Hebrew Journals
    Biological Sciences [Brings together the 29 titles available in the Ecology & Botany Collection with more than 100 titles new to JSTOR]
    Business [Titles drawn from Arts & Sciences I, II, IV, VI, and VII (already-owned collections)]
    Business III
    Business IV
    Ecology & Botany I [overlap with Arts & Sciences I and Biological Sciences and Life Sciences]
    Ecology & Botany II
    Health & General Sciences
    Jewish Studies
    Language & Literature [overlap with Arts & Sciences I, and Arts & Sciences III (already-owned collections)]
    Mathematics & Statistics [All titles in this collection are available in Arts & Sciences III (already-owned collections)]
    19th Century British Pamphlets
    Global Plants
    African Cultural Heritage Sites and Landscapes
    Struggles for Freedom in Southern Africa
  • Medici.tv, October 24 - November 22, 2014  Icon
    Each year discover more than 100 events broadcast live from the most prestigious venues: Carnegie Hall, Walt Disney Concert Hall, Concertgebouw, Teatro alla Scala, Berliner Philharmonie, Salle Pleyel, Théâtre des Champs-Élysées, Verbier Festival, Salzburger Festspiele on Medici.tv. Access the largest online collection of classical music videos in the world, with 1,400 original programmes available on demand and with unlimited access, plus hundreds of new films each year. Take advantage of Medici.tv's special partners with the biggest artists, festivals and concert halls. Enjoy exclusive concerts in the company of world-famous orchestras, set out to discover superstars, and support the up-and-coming young talent that will be tomorrow's classical music stars. Available on PC or Mac with unlimited access, in high definition and without the need to download them. Mobile and tablet apps allow viewing worldwide at any time. The Smart TV apps allow watching on tv.
  • NAACP History Collections 1-6, Proquest History Vault, October 24, 2014 - November 23, 2014  Icon
    ProQuest and the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP) have teamed up to digitize the association’s archives, bringing one of the most famous records of the civil rights movement to the online world. The collection is nearly two million pages of internal memos, legal briefings, and direct action summaries from national, legal, and branch offices throughout the country. It charts the NAACP’s work and delivers a first-hand view into crucial issues. The collection holds the distinction of being the most heavily used collection in the Manuscript Division of the Library of Congress. Fully searchable and accessible electronically as part of ProQuest® History Vault, with a timeline that runs from 1909 to 1972, users can examine the realities of segregation in the early 20th century to the triumphs of the passage of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Voting Rights Act of 1965 and beyond.
  • OLMS ONLINE Archive: FRANKFURT AND LEIPZIG BOOK-FAIR CATALOGUES, October 24, 2014 - November 24, 2014  Icon
    Book-trade catalogues, generally referred to as book fair catalogues, offer a unique overview of German – and in many respects European – book production over a period of nearly 300 years (1594-1860). This form of information, originally intended for the contemporary book trade, today forms an important and comprehensive
    historical bibliography of the period.
    Developed in the 16th century, the book fair catalogues for the Spring or Easter and Autumn or Michaelmas Fairs provided the widest possible overview of the books on offer during this period. Only when other sources of information began to take their place did they cease publication in 1860.

    The digitisation is based on the microfilming of the book fair catalogues from 1594 onwards. To bring the various and astonishingly scattered holdings of different libraries together and create and almost complete run was a major editorial achievement. There were only a few years during the Thirty Years’ War when no cata
  • OLMS ONLINE Archive: REPRINTS, October 24, 2014 - November 24, 2014  Icon
    Olms Online presents works reprinted by the Georg Olms Verlag with additional information. These are reprints with new introductions, afterwords, notes or indexes added by the editors. This “added value” distinguishes the chosen titles from other digital collections on the World Wide Web. Bibliographical data are also searchable through hidden metadata. Currently some 400 volumes, with a focus on German language and literature and on philosophy, can be viewed here. You will find on these pages, for example, the German and Latin works from the Complete Works of Christian Wolff, the Works of the Brothers Grimm and Bernhard Suphan’s Herder edition with an introduction to the online edition by Professor Gerhard Sauder. Titles from Olms' collections on Christian Thomasius and Hermann Cohen, as well as early works of women’s literature, dictionaries of the 15th to 19th centuries and collections of proverbs offer a digital insight
    into the Olms Verlag’s humanities programme.
  • Translated Texts for Historians E-Library, October 24, 2014 - November 21, 2014  Icon
    Comprehensive: 60-volume digital library with over 13,000 pages of translated historical sources, the translated texts span 300-800AD and have been translated into English from Greek, Latin, Syriac, Coptic, Arabic, Georgian, Armenian and Old Irish. The geographic range covers Syria, Arabia, Armenia, Georgia and Egypt in the East; North Africa; major cities of the Roman Empire (Antioch, Alexandria and Constantinople); and Spain, Gaul, Italy, Britain and Ireland in the West. Includes histories, chronicles, letters, annals, formularies, compendia, political speeches, military and theological handbooks, poems, documentary sources, records of church councils, biblical and theological commentaries, sermons, church histories, Christian treatises, Christian and pagan panegyric and polemic, Neoplatonic texts, Lives of saints, bishops and popes. Hosted by MetaPress on a fully searchable online platform with industry standard usage reports.
  • Trial Evaluation
    If you find one of these resources to be useful for your teaching or research, please let us know (be specific!) and tell a friend or colleague.
 

About Trial Databases

These electronic resources have been made available to the Claremont Colleges on a temporary basis (varying from 1 month to 1 year). These trials allow the Library to assess their importance to our Students, Faculty and Staff. The level of use each one receives helps us to make decisions regarding future subscriptions or purchases.

Check out these resources and don't forget to fill out the evaluation form to give us your opinion about them!

Problem?

Please email or call 909-607-8839.

      
    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip