This is the "Home" page of the "International Relations" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

International Relations  

This is a research guide for study in International Relations - which can be defined as relations between one or more countries.
Last Updated: Sep 2, 2014 URL: http://libguides.libraries.claremont.edu/internationalrelations Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is International Relations?

International relations (IR) (occasionally referred to as international studies (IS))[1] is the study of relationships between countries, including the roles of states, inter-governmental organizations (IGOs), international nongovernmental organizations (INGOs), non-governmental organizations (NGOs) and multinational corporations (MNCs). It is both an academic and public policy field, and can be either positive or normative as it both seeks to analyze as well as formulate the foreign policy of particular states. It is often considered a branch of political science (especially after 1988 UNESCO nomenclature), but an important sector of academia prefer to treat it as an interdisciplinary field of study.

Apart from political science, IR draws upon such diverse fields as economics, history, international law, philosophy, geography, social work, sociology, anthropology, psychology, women's studies/gender studies, and cultural studies / culturology. It involves a diverse range of issues including but not limited to: globalization, state sovereignty, ecological sustainability, nuclear proliferation, nationalism, economic development, global finance, terrorism, organized crime, human security, foreign interventionism and human rights. ** Wikipedia

 

Strategies for More Efficient Research

mouse over bubbles to see more tips - use full screen mode to see entire process at once

Databases With International Relations Information

  • Academic Search Premier
    A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
    Citations for primarily scholarly articles, dissertations and some books articles in more than 300 political science and government journals.
  • PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International
    Selected citations for journal articles, books, government documents and reports and foreign language publications.
  • Columbia International Affairs Online
    A wide range of documents including working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
  • Historical Abstracts
    Citations with abstracts for scholarly articles, books, dissertations, and book reviews published worldwide on world history, covering 1450 AD to present.
  • World News Connection
    Full-text English language translations of foreign news service articles, translations of foreign speeches and other news items from the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS).
  • LexisNexis Academic
    News stories, broadcasts and transcripts from the world's largest newspapers and news sources. Full text law journal articles, legal codes, judge's decisions, SEC filings, and additional financial information on companies.
  • Social Sciences Abstracts (OmniFile)
    Citations for articles and book reviews published in over 415 major international English-language scholarly journals in the social sciences.
  • JSTOR
    No articles less than 4 years old. Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Mary Martin
Chat requires JavaScript.
Contact Info
IRIS South
Honnold/Mudd Library
Claremont Colleges
909-621-8923
Send Email

Reference Management Software

  • RefWorks  Icon
    A web-based system to create and manage your own database of articles, web pages, and other resources for your research. Use the records in your database to format notes and bibliographies in the appropriate style (MLA, APA, etc.) for your papers.
  • Endnote
    Endnote is available from the bookstore at a student rate (around $100) and has a web-based version called Endnote Web which is available to CUC users. This software is more powerful, but less effective for collaboration than Refworks
  • Zotero
    "Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources. It lives right where you do your work—in the web browser itself."
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip