This is the "Home" page of the "Government Information" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Government Information   Tags: administrative_law, executive, government, international, judicial, legislative  

Guide to Government Information
Last Updated: Nov 24, 2014 URL: http://libguides.libraries.claremont.edu/government Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

USA.gov

 

FAQ's

Where can I find the CPI (Consumer Price Index)?

Where can I find information on a bill that was passed?

Where can I find information on the total debt of the United States?

Where can I find the GDP of Japan?

Where can I find the total imports into the United states from China?

How can I find how much tax revenue the state of california collected last year?

How can I find a UN resolution?

How can I find a sepcification for a government contract?

If you have any of these and other similar questions you have come to the right place!

Library Catalogs

  • Blais (Library Catalog)
    Government information resources in the library catalog
  • WorldCat
    WorldCat is the largest online catalog in the world, with over 86 million records (and counting) from libraries all over the world. This link is to Honnold's subscription - the link to a free version is below.
  • WorldCat
    Free version. Same as above

General Indexes & Catalogs

 

Government Information in/via the Library

Government Information in the Honnold/Mudd Library can be found in various formats and through various means. Depending on what you are searching for, you can begin in several places. The government [documents] previously were only available in paper, and the collection is old, some documents dating from the 18th century and even earlier in the case of the British documents. They are also available in a variety of formats, paper, microfiche, CD-ROM, and electronic (online).

Although most information published currently is available in electronic format, about 50 % of the collection is not cataloged in Blais. There are ways to search for government documents in some historical catalogs, then inquire whether or not Honnold has the document (or even go look yourself)

Most government documents received since 1976 are cataloged in Blais, but not all. Even electronic documents are cataloged in Blais.

U.S. Government Documents (most) are located on the 1st floor of the Mudd building, and are in Sudoc order. There are scattered U.S. documents that can be found throughout the library stacks, under LC classification number.

California State Documents are also located on Mudd 1; adjacent to the U.S. collection, and are almost all cataloged in LC classification. There is a small collection of California documents classified in Caldocs, but these are slowly being reclassified in LC.

International Government documents are classified in LC and integrated into the general library stacks. There are some pre-1970ish documents that are unclassified. Some are located in storage, and some (such as the League of Nations) are shelved on Mudd 1, in the Government Publications stack areas.

There is an extensive British government documents collection that is uncataloged and shelved on Mudd 1 i the Government Publications stack areas.

Databases with Links to Government Information and Articles About Government Information

  • Academic Search Premier
    A scholarly, multi-disciplinary full text database containing full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications.
  • PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) International
    Selected citations for journal articles, books, government documents and reports and foreign language publications.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    News stories, broadcasts and transcripts from the world's largest newspapers and news sources. Full text law journal articles, legal codes, judge's decisions, SEC filings, and additional financial information on companies.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Mary Martin
Chat requires JavaScript.
Contact Info
IRIS South
Honnold/Mudd Library
Claremont Colleges
909-621-8923
Send Email

Citing Government Information

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip