This guide is to help you find a Special Collections item to be used for your reflective essay following your "virtual class visit" to Special Collections. In consultation with your professor, we decided to focus materials on water issues in Southern California. Your task after your visit will be to select one or more of these items and analyze their significance. What issues does these materials raise? How might you interpret them? Can you draw any connections between the document and the context?
Here are some of the topics covered by the materials:
Curated for EA 170, this virtual exhibit contains digitized versions of materials found in Special Collections. These items are to help course students complete their Deconstructing Claremont project. Materials in this virtual exhibit include primary sources Materials in this virtual exhibit include primary sources spanning 1872 to 2017 and cover a variety of topics including Tongva indigenous people, Rancho San José, the precursor to the City of Claremont,1880s boosterism materials citrus industry, early water and power efforts in the area,1916 and 1938 flood photographs, ground water information, and local water issues.
Water resources archival collections from seven partner institutions are now available in a central location. These collections originate from a variety of sources, such as federal, state and local governments, water companies, local agencies, engineers and other individuals involved in water resources development in the Southern California region. In essence, you will be searching the CA Water Documents Collection in the CCDL, but this portal provides more information about the partners and the collections.