Find your textbook and other course materials by searching in the Course Readings list using your professor's last name or course name.
If you do not see your textbook listed, then your professor may not have asked the Library to place the item on course reserves. Please reach out to your Subject Librarian to get more help with finding the item you need.
To search for eBooks, articles, media and more - use Library Search - the search field on the library homepage.
The Claremont Colleges Library use the Library of Congress Classification System to organize physical books in the library. Our science section can be found on the first (1st) floor of the Honnold side of the building. Below, you will find a list of subjects and the call number grouping in which they may be found.
LC Subclasses for Medical, Physical Sciences and Pharmaceutical subjects
Are you struggling with searching and want to learn more effective strategies? Take an easy 10-minute Library tutorial to learn how to search like a scholar! Reduce your stress when searching and quickly learn techniques that will equip you for life.
After completing the tutorial, you'll know:
A primary source describes original research, while a secondary source analyzes or comments on a primary source or sources. A tertiary source is an index or consolidation of primary and secondary sources.
For example, a research article is primary literature because it describes an original experiment and its results, while a review article is secondary literature because it collates multiple research articles to describe the current state of the field. While a newspaper article may be both a primary and secondary source.
Examples of primary sources:
Examples of secondary sources:
Examples of tertiary sources:
The databases below can help you find primary and secondary literature in the sciences. While searching, you can narrow your results to primary literature, ebooks and more.
View the Database Directory for on-going updates to our subscriptions.
To get a copy of an article that is not in our holdings, use Resource Sharing.
Watch this video to learn how.
Find more eBooks in our collections by using Library Search (search field on Library homepage). Be sure to apply The Claremont Colleges Library filter and filter again by eBook format. Find all eBook Collections by going to the Library Homepage > Databases > Databases by Format > eBooks.
Use Reference materials to get background and general information on your topics. Find all eBook Collections by going to the Library Homepage > Databases > Databases by Format > Reference Sources.
What is Open Access?
The term Open Access, also known as OA, refers to the free and unrestricted online access and publication of research such as journal articles and books. This type of content is open to everyone with no access restrictions or fees.
Visit Open Content on the Library website to learn more about browser extensions and Deep Web searching techniques you can use in the World Wide Web. You will also find additional open access resources throughout this guide.
The Claremont Colleges Library has both print and ejournal collections. Search for journals by going to the Library homepage and clicking on Journals. You can search by ISSN, title or even acronym and also browse by subject and title.
Core Health Journals
Browse all of our Newspaper Resources by going to the Library homepage > Databases > Databases by Format > Newspapers & News Sources.