Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Library is now open for students, staff, and faculty of The Claremont Colleges. See COVID-19 Services and Updates for more information.

Special Collections Access Guide

Discover Materials in Special Collections

Learn how to discover a variety of materials found in Special Collections by exploring the sections on the menu.

Your main starting point is the Special Collections homepage - explore the various tabs connecting you to Special Collections materials in different formats. Read the sections below for more information.

Books and More

Search Tips

  • Type your search into the main search bar on the Special Collections homepage or use Advanced Search. If you're using advanced searching, filter to "Honnold/Mudd Special Collections" and/or "Denison Library" at the bottom of the page under "Held By Library" for a search scoped to local special collections.

Archival Materials and Manuscripts

Search Tips

  • Use keywords or short phrases within quotes, for example "citrus industry," to search archival collections located at libraries and archives at The Claremont Colleges.
  • When you find a specific collection of interest, you can search within the collection by clicking on that collection and entering a keyword in the search field on the top, right hand side. You can also explore the collection contents by clicking within the table of contents at right.
  • Browse and explore items by downloading a PDF under "View entire collection guide" at top right.

Search Tips

  • Use keywords and phrases within quotes to in the main "Search The Archives" bar.

Digital Collections

Search Tips

  • Browse collections of interest by selecting a collection. Each collection landing page offers an overview and a browse feature. After clicking the "Browse" button, you can change your results to include up to 200 items per page making it easy to scroll and discover.
  • Search for specific topics or types of material by using Advanced Search:
    • Try searching your keyword with the "All Fields" option
    • Too many results? Try searching your keyword by "Title," "Subject," or "Description"
    • You can also limit your search by collection

College Archives

Special Collections holds a variety of materials relating to the history of The Claremont Colleges and its affiliates. Many resources can also be found in Library Search and within the Online Archive of California (OAC) and ArchivesSpace (ASpace).

Search Tips

  • Open the spreadsheet to browse tabs arranged by institution:
    • CUC & TCCS = The Claremont Colleges Services (formerly Claremont University Consortium)
    • CGS & CGU = Claremont Graduate University (formerly Claremont Graduate School)
    • CMC = Claremont McKenna College (formerly Claremont Men's College)
    • HM = Harvey Mudd College
    • Pitzer = Pitzer College
    • Pomona = Pomona College
    • Scripps = Scripps College
    • Affiliated Institutions
    • Pitzer EAD
  • Browse or use Ctrl + F to search for a title or keyword
  • Each title entry represents a publication.
  • Look at the date range and issue date to identify volumes of interest.
Student Newspapers 
Yearbooks

Search Tips

  • Yearbooks are a window into student life and often offer photos of past students and faculty
  • Identify specific volumes that correspond to your research interests

Dissertations and Theses

The Claremont Colleges Library holds many dissertations and theses. These can be found in a variety of places including Special Collections. Please consult the FAQs below for more information about searching and accessing dissertations and theses.

When requesting dissertations or theses found in Special Collections, please place the request directly from the Library Search item record or place a manual request by selecting "Book" under the "New Request" menu.

Other repositories and collections for dissertations and theses: