The Claremont Colleges Digital Library, also known as the CCDL, consists of over 70 collections of historical and visual resources and collections created both by and for The Claremont Colleges community. Topics include Anthropology, Fine Arts, Geography, History, Illuminated Manuscripts, Language and Literature, Library Science, Music, Political Science, Psychology, Religion, Sciences, Social Sciences, Women and Gender. Also included are California History, Environment, Italian Renaissance, Japanese American Incarceration and World War II, Management, Native Americans, Photography, The Claremont Colleges History, and Water.
The Boynton Collection offers a view of early Claremont through the eyes of an amateur photographer. This collection of glass plate negatives captures aspects of life in Claremont and at Pomona College around the turn of the twentieth century. As well as documenting local buildings and landscape, they present a candid glimpse of Pomona College student life, including athletic events, theatrical productions, college outings, and residence halls.
The City of Claremont History Collection documents the development of Claremont from its boom years at the end of the nineteenth century to the present day. Composed of photographs taken by various amateur and professional photographers over a one hundred year span, the collection provides a glimpse of Claremont’s past through photographs of its buildings, neighborhoods, local landscape, and daily life.
Documenting the history and development of The Claremont Colleges through images, this collection began with building and grounds photographs and has grown to include athletics, student activities, and student organizations as well as photos of administration officials, alumni, faculty, and students. This collection is still “active” and will continue to grow as more photographs are added.
Maps and Mapping at The Claremont Colleges offers digital access to printed maps available at The Claremont Colleges Library Special Collections, as well as those available at Ella Strong Denison Library at Scripps College. Mostly historical maps (1600s-1800s) but includes early maps of Claremont and Pomona, a 1941 map of San Bernardino County, and a couple of Claremont Chamber of Commerce maps.