The Claremont Colleges Library Special Collections is the library’s principal repository for print and manuscript primary sources. The collections number nearly 200,000 volumes and more than 11,000 linear feet of a diverse array of literary and historical manuscripts, personal papers, and college archives that span more than 900 years of human history. The collections are available for research, teaching, and study in person, and, increasingly, digitally in the Claremont Colleges Digital Library.
We provide an array of research support and instruction services to the students, faculty, and staff of The Claremont Colleges and the wider scholarly community; we partner with faculty and our library colleagues on course-integrated instruction, and we provide students opportunities to engage with and utilize primary sources in their research.
Relevant Archival Collections in Special Collections
This collection contains the research, writing, and teaching materials created by author, educator, and historian Matthew J. Garcia. The materials document Dr. Garcia's work on topics related to agriculture, labor, food, immigration, ethnicity, and popular culture in California. Primary subjects of interest include the citrus industry and Mexican-American laborers in Southern California.
The David Boule California Orange Collection contains materials related to orange and citrus cultivation in California in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. Developed by author, researcher, and avid collector David Boulé, this collection has long been a fixture of the LA Archives Bazaar. and contains valuable resources relating to the California citrus industry, including rare posters, pamphlets, candid photographs, labor documents, and a sizable collection of souvenirs and products promoted to tourists and consumers.
This collection contains documents relating to the citrus industry from various vendors and growers associations in Southern California. It was collected by Claremont Heritage and gifted to Special Collections in 2015. Although the dates range from 1891-1973 the bulk of the collection is material from the early twentieth century pertaining to the College Heights, Etiwanda, and Covina Orange Growers Associations. Notable materials in this collection includes information about the citrus laborers such as fruit pickers, what materials the growers used, and industrial machinery blueprints and patents.
This collection of over 80 citrus labels from southern California date from as early as the 1890s and was collected by Alice and Professor Larry Oglesby, long-time Claremont residents. Professor Oglesby was Professor Emeritus of Biology at Pomona College. The bulk of the collection originates primarily from Claremont and Pomona, California. Several books on citrus labels were also donated as part of the collection.