Located in Honnold/Mudd Library, Special Collections is a place where you can connect to the past by examining rare books, reading original letters and manuscripts, and studying historical photographs and other objects. We collect, preserve, and make accessible collections that span more than 900 years of human history, with particular depth in 16th-20th centuries, the American West, science, music and theater, Asian history and culture, books and printing, and the history of The Claremont Colleges and the larger Claremont community, among other subjects, places, and eras.
In addition to your class bibliography, you can find other lists of sources and exhibit catalogs we have created during each academic year for a variety of Special Collections classes, exhibitions, and events. These bibliographies provide glimpses into the wide range of special collections held by The Claremont Colleges Library which are available for your research. You can find more detailed information about our collections on the Special Collections webpages.
The Online Archive of California (OAC) is a research gateway to unique and historical materials at archives, libraries, and museums throughout California. Link targets archival institutions at The Claremont Colleges (TCC).
Search The Claremont Colleges Library (TCCL) archival database for historic and literary manuscript collections held at The Claremont Colleges. Includes unprocessed collections and collections without a completed finding aid.
Digital primary sources from the water archives of TCCL plus 6 partner institutions including blueprints, correspondence, ephemera, ledgers, legal papers, maps, pamphlets, photographs, plans, reports, scrapbooks, and technical documents.
Curated for HIST 300, this virtual exhibit contains digitized versions of materials found in Special Collections. These items are to help course students "read" primary sources and think about related secondary sources.
Worksheet for students to identify themes and keywords related to the Special Collections primary source they chose to "read" as well as their search strategies for finding more primary and/or secondary sources.