Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Library is now open for students, staff, and faculty of The Claremont Colleges. See COVID-19 Services and Updates for more information.

Increase Your Scholarly Impact

A self-service guide to help you increase your scholarly impact, provided by the Libraries' Scholarly Communications and Open Publishing Services.

Journal Metrics Defined

Journal metrics represent the importance of a journal in a discipline based on citations to the journal as a whole over a period of time. The use of journal metrics to evaluate faculty performance has pros and cons, especially depending on your discipline. Note the Subject Coverage in the boxes below.

Major journal metrics currently available, along with their definitions, are:

Remember that journal metrics are based on differing citation counts and may be calculated differently from one resource to the next. This means, for example, that the journal h-indices from Google Scholar and SCImago are not interchangeable or comparable. See the rest of this page for details on how to find the various journal metrics.

Journal Citation Reports

Enter the library's subscription to Journal Citation Reports (JCR) here.  The videos below demonstrate how to locate: 

JCR is based on the same journal list as Web of Science, which is considered the "gold standard" in databases. JCR tracks citations to more than 12,800 titles, the majority of which are in the science disciplines. 

  • Subject coverage. 65% Sciences, 23% Social Sciences, and 13% Arts and Humanities.
  • Publication types. Peer-reviewed journal articles and some technical/trade journals.
  • Limitations. 1) Weak coverage of humanities and social sciences; and 2) trade and practitioner journals are generally not included.

Scopus

Enter the freely available Journal Metrics module in Scopus. The short videos below demonstrates how to locate CiteScore metrics and Source Normalized Impact per Paper (SNIP):

The database content includes about twice as many journal titles than Web of Science, the majority of which are science journals.

  • Subject coverage. 70% Sciences and 31% Social Sciences and Arts & Humanities combined. 
  • Publication types. Mainly peer-reviewed journals and books series, along with some conference proceedings and trade journals.
  • Limitations. 1) Weak coverage of humanities and social sciences; and 2) sparse coverage of technical/trade journals.

SCImago Journal and Country Rank

Enter the publicly available SCImago Journal and Country Rank (SCImago). Watch this short video on how to locate the SCImago Journal Rank (SJR) for a title, SJR quartiles, and the h-index:

SCImago is developed from the information in the Scopus database from Elsevier. Therefore, it has the same limitations as Scopus - see the details in the box above.

Google Scholar

Enter the publicly available Google Scholar on the Metrics page. Watch this short video that demonstrates how to find the h-indices for journals:

Remember these points about Google Scholar:

  • Subject coverage. Best coverage of humanities, and also strong in social sciences and STEM disciplines.
  • Limitation. Google does not provide a list of the journals it tracks.